General

#NEWTSreadathon2018 Day 5

Hey guys,

So I thought I would jump in and update you of how I am doing through the NEWTs read-a-thon! It is only 5 days in to the month-long read-a-thon but I am already happy with the progress that I am making.

Oh, and of course I had to make it a little harder for myself!

I have decided to attempt to get an ‘acceptable’ for all of  the subjects, and get an ‘outstanding’ in the original three. So here are the additional books I have added to my TBR:

Ancient Runes: A book set in the past

Hunting Prince Dracula by Maniscalco

Astronomy: A book with stars on the cover

Strange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor

Care of Magical Creatures: A book with an animal on the cover

Wings of Fire: The Lost Heir by Tui Sutherland

Charms: A book that has magic in it

The Traitor God by Cameron Johnston

Herbology: A book with green on the cover

A Demon in Silver by R.S. Ford

History of Magic: A book that would fit at Hogwarts Library

Furyborn by Claire Legrand

Muggle Studies: A book by your favourite author

The Curse of the King by Peter Lerangis

Transfiguration: A book with a grey cover

The Cursed Queen by Sarah Fine


So, in the next month I am attempting to read 18 books! I will be happy if I reach 15, but I am really aiming for all of them to be complete!

I have already completed 2 books and started 4 others.

Firstly I completed Wing of Fire: The Lost Heir by Tui Sutherland, this completed my Care of Magical Creatures acceptable challenge as it has a dragon on the cover. I read this middle-grade novel in one sitting and it was a fun read.

Next I listened to Strange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor, this completed my acceptable challenge for astrology as it has stars all over the cover. This was an emotional but intriguing read and I plan on picking up the sequel soon.

I have started 4 other books; I am listening to my next audiobook, Grey Sister by Mark Lawrence. This is my acceptable challenge of Arithmancy, I am currently over a quarter of the way through.

I have also started Bright We Burn by Kiersten White, by start I mean I have read the first two chapters. I am determined to get through this book, it is one of my larger books I have chosen for this read-a-thon but I want to get this trilogy finished. This is the acceptable challenge for the defence against the dark arts challenge.

I worked a night shift last night and took Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett, I managed to get 214 pages in to the 500 page book. This is the acceptable challenge for my potions class as it contains colours in the title.

And finally, I have started A Demon in Silver by R.S Ford; this is my read for the acceptable challenge for Herbology. This is my travelling book, reading a few pages every day on my way to and from work.

I am really happy with this progress so far, I am hoping to get one of these finished today but which one I haven’t decided yet.

I know I am taking on a challenge however not as much as those who are aiming to get an outstanding in all 12 subjects!

Helen

One thought on “#NEWTSreadathon2018 Day 5

Leave a comment