Reading

#TheReadingQuest TBR

Hey guys,

So I have decided to partake in the Reading Quest, a month long read-a-thon that starts today (Sunday 13th August 2017) and runs through till the 10th September. This was developed by Aentee (@ReadatMidnight) and is based on the video game concept of taking a character and developing them through a quest.

The challenges are laid out on a board where each character has their own path and there are side challenges.

the reading quest.png

So which character am I going to be?

I will be a knight! Although when I play video games I tend to stick to rogues and mages, the challenges for the Knight best fit the TBR I want and I can always continue around the board if I finish them.

On to the books!

THE MAIN QUEST

The first book in a series

For this I am going with a current read of mine; The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams, this is a huge book and I am currently close to half way through. I know that over the next two days I will have quite a bit of reading time so I am hoping that I can push through the last 400 pages of this. It is the first book in the Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn Series.

Read a book with a verb in the title

For this I have chosen Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi, with ignite being a verb. This is the final book in the Shatter Me Trilogy and I should have had this read ages ago.

Read a book with a weapon on the cover

For this I have chosen Swords and Scoundrels by Julia Knight, this has several swords on the front and definitely meets the aims for having a weapon on the cover.

Read a book with a red cover

For this one I have decided to go with Seven Wonders: Lost in Babylon by Peter Lerangis, this is the second book in the Seven Wonders Series. It is a middle grade fantasy and I flew through the first one relatively quickly. This has a predominately red cover and is relatively short. Bonus.

Read a book that has a TV/ movie adaptation

For this one I have decided to go with a Disney retelling; Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell. Although this is a sleeping beauty retelling, it is also the story behind maleficent movie (or so I believe) and should be really quick to get through.

SIDE QUESTS

Potions- read a book concocted by two authors

For this I have decided to pick up The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr; this is a YA witch fantasy and looks amazing.

Respawn- read a book you previosuly DNF’d

So this book wasn’t put down because I didn’t like it, I just didn’t like the format; I was reading The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman on my kindle and I really wasn’t enjoying it, so I put it down. Well I decided I wanted to read the actual book so I picked it up and never got around to it. I will be starting again because I cannot remember where I am.

Animal Companion- read a book referencing an animal in the title

I struggled with this one, for some reason I don’t have many books on my TBR that have actual animals in the title; so I decided to go with Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

MY PLAN OF ATTACK!

So I always need a plan of attack, especially with really long read-a-thons. I know that you need to do the main quest in order however you can do a side quest whenever you want to.

As I am starting with a really long, high fantasy for the read-a-thon, I have decided to tick off a side quest alongside it. But which one, I cannot work out.


 I know that I have left it to the last minute to get this TBR up, and I apologise for that because I didn’t know whether I was going to participate until this morning. I do however think that 8 books is do-able over the next four weeks, even with my crazy work schedule.

Are you participating? Leave me your tbr (or a link to it) in the comments below.

Happy reading,

Helen

2 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest TBR

Leave a Reply

