Reading

Tome Topple 4: midpoint check-in

Hey guys,

So we have just passed the half way point of tome topple round 4 and I’m doing pretty well. Well, I’m happy with my progress any way.

Tome Topple is a two week read-a-thon where the main focus is to read books over 500 pages to get to those books that intimidate you on your shelf. There are challenges for this, however because of work I plan on not focusing on just reading big books rather than getting them to fit a challenge.

I had three books on my TBR and some of these are huge!

Firstly The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams; the first book in the Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn Series. This is a huge high fantasy book, and by huge I mean it is 912 pages. 912.

Secondly I plan on reading Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb, the final book in the Farseer Trilogy. I loved every other instalment of this series and I am kicking myself that I haven’t read this book sooner.

Finally, I want to pick up a shorter tome, and I mean it just passes tome standards with 535 pages, and that is Spy Glass by Maria V Snyder. This is the fifth book in the chronicles of Ixia and I loved the other books, this is one of the biggest from the series so far but I am hoping that the writing is really fast like all of Maria’s other works.

Update

So I have been working nights for the past week which means I have varied opportunity to actually read, however I have manages quite a bit of progress. Firstly I am currently on page 320 of The Dragonbone Chair, it was really slow to get into but once the set-up was done the book took a much darker turn and I started flying through the pages. So I have just passed the third mark and I am really hoping I can at least get this one finished before the end of the read-a-thon.

I have also picked up Assassin’s Quest, and I must admit I have found it to be the same as Robin’s previous two instalments; extremely slow for the first third of the book. I had the exact same thoughts on both books in this series and expected it on this one too. It is a very dense book and although I have only reached page 182, I have spent many hours over the last week reading it. I doubt I will get this one read before the end of the read-a-thon however it will be finished before the end of the month because I am sure that it will be picking up once I get passed the first bit.

Finally, I have yet to pick up Spy Glass. This is because it is the shortest and I know I will focus on it because I want to get a book read- and for me that goes against the essence of the read-a-thon. As I have chosen two books that have been intimidating me and an easier read, I want to really push myself and get the two larger books read.

As I am coming to the end of my nights, I have several days off next week so I am hoping that I can catch up on some reading and fly through these books.

Total pages read: 402 – not very impressed with this.

Over the next week I plan on focusing most of my energy of The Dragonbone Chair and getting this three inch book off my TBR shelf and hopefully setting me up well to continue reading the series over the next few months.

How is your read-a-thon going? Are you enjoying it? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time my friends,

Helen

 

Leave a Reply

