Writing

Scrivner 101: The Writer’s Toolbox!

Hey guys,

Welcome to my new series, something I have wanted to do for a while because my love of Scrivener just continues to grow. If you don’t know, Scrivener is a programme designed for writer’s to actually write with. And we love it.

scrivener logo.png

The main aim of this programme is to simplify the writing experience; it does this in quite a complex method (we’ll go through this over the next two months). However, you can tell throughout the whole programme is that it is designed for writer’s.

I personally found Scrivener through the National Novel Writing Month, when I was going through the million YouTube videos around NaNoWriMo, I noticed that almost everyone who had won had used Scrivener. Best thing is, it has a 30 day free trial (it just also happens to be the length of NaNoWriMo) so on November 1st 2014 I downloaded the free trial of Scrivener and began my first attempt at NaNoWriMo. It was a learning experience, I never realised that it was such a huge toolbox and that it held so much. However, by the end of 30th November 2014, I had written 130,000 words on my manuscript which I started on November 1st and every single one of them were on Scrivener.

When I won NaNoWriMo that year, I found something amazing; Scrivener was actually a prize for winners. And I could see why they wanted to partner up. However I never claimed it, I paid for it. I wanted to- and that sounds totally stupid when I look back, but I was in love with this programme and I wanted to support them and the best way I could do that at the time was to pay the £27.99 it cost to purchase the programme. I did claim the editorial prize from NaNoWriMo that year, although once I started reading through my first draft I never envisioned myself actually getting to use it.

I know that this initial post hasn’t really introduced specific elements of Scrivener, but I wanted to let you know why I love it, how it has helped me and introduce the series as a whole. So, lets have a quick look at what will be coming up over the next two months!

  • Outlining on Scrivener
  • how the colour-coding works
  • world-building
  • using Scrivener for short works
  • building scenes
  • meeting targets on scrivener
  • editing on scrivner
  • key elements of scrivener and why you should get it before NaNoWriMo

This is definitely a series I have been looking forward to sharing with you and honestly, sitting down and thinking about all of these areas make me realise how scary a programme like this can be. Hopefully, by the end of this series, you will see that it really isn’t that scary.

Are you a lover of Scrivener? Have you ever used it? Let me know in the comments below.

Helen x

Leave a Reply

