General

#TomeTopple Day 5

Hey guys,

Just a quick drop in to let you know what has been going on, reading wise at least. So, I haven’t added to my completed tomes list yet but I have been making some great progress.

Firstly, I have decided to put aside The Oversight by S. Jae-Jones, not because I didn’t enjoy but because I was struggling to find a pace in the reading that felt right for me at the moment- both in the read-a-thon and my general reading pace at the moment. I am not DNF-ing this book, merely putting it to the side until I feel ready to pick it back up again.

Secondly, I have decided to pick up Red Sister by Mark Lawrence, this just sneaks in as a tome at 512 pages and I am so thankful that it does because I started it this evening and have already passed the 100 page mark! I am loving this new release and I cannot wait to get my thoughts out in a review- watch this space!

Thirdly, I decided to pick up The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black yesterday, for my travelling book. Mainly because I don’t like having extremely large books on buses because they seriously weigh down my bag. Although I managed to get 78 pages read yesterday, I did manage to complete the novel this morning; unfortunately it was less that 250 pages, let alone 500; and therefore doesn’t count toward the read-a-thon. It does however bring my current total for April to 7 so far!  Happy days.

Finally, I have also made some serious progress on The Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb; I began today on page 233 and determined that I should pass page 300 today. I currently stop at page 450 because my eyes are really hurting and I need my sleep. I am hopeful that I can perhaps complete Royal Assassin tomorrow, meeting my 10 books before I go back to work on Thursday. If not, I will not be too disappointed as some of the books I have completed over the last three weeks have been larger books.

Overall, I am extremely happy with the progress so far; I am saddened that I wont be able to complete the oversight however, there are plenty of tomes on my shelves that need reading- and now I get to add another on to my TBR! I have decided that if I can maintain a decent reading pace after returning to work, that I will hopefully be picking up two books I used for Tome Topple 2.0; the bone season by Samantha Shannon and The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. I currently have less than 500 pages left between the two books and although I know that means I am not completing the tomes during this read-a-thon, but at least all of the pages have been completed during Tome Topple read-a-thons.

I hope you are all having a successful read-a-thon! Let me know in the comments below!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

