General · Reading

#TomeTopple Day 2 & 3

Hey guys,

So a really quick drop-in telling you all about days two and three of the awesome #TomeTopple!

Day Two:

So day two started really slow, I first picked up ‘The Oversight’ by S. Jae-Jones and found it really slow and hard to get in to. I did manage to read the first 83 pages of the book before making myself busy around the house.

However, when evening drew in I found myself feeling guilty for not investing as much time into reading when I had planned to have the whole day free. As I had left The Oversight downstairs and I was feeling particularly lazy, I decided to pick up the graphic novel I had chosen for the TBR. Now I found it really hard to focus on Twilight Volume 1 Graphic Novel Written by Stephenie Meyer and Illustrated by Young Kim, but I found that it went exceptionally quick- as with most graphic novels. Although I was on the verge of sleep, I did manage to complete the entire graphic novel before calling it a night and therefore is counted towards day 2!

Day Three:

Day three has ended up being slightly successful and also slightly disappointing. I had planned to spend the entire day reading (as is the usual plan for the weekends off work) but I ended up spending more time cleaning and working around the house, than I did looking at the books I had chosen. However, I did decide to pick up Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb; the second book in the Farseer Trilogy.

I knew that this would be a much slower and more complicated read that the other books I have picked up so far for #TomeTopple and I knew that it would take multiple days to complete. One of the things I love about Robin Hobb’s writing is it’s slow burning, how it develops and draws you in and holds you there. Which is why I was pleasantly surprised that I managed to reach page 200 today, where I usually only manage to read 100 pages of epic high fantasy a day because I like to re-read passages and really immerse myself in the world.

I am slightly disappointed that I didn’t read much of The Oversight today, I did manage to reach page 147 early this morning before I got distracted by cleaning and adult jobs, however I was struggling to maintain a good hold on the book. I hope that by alternating between epic high fantasy and young adult fantasy, I will be able to maintain a good speed and progress on both books.

Plans:

I would very much like to complete one of the two books I am currently reading, or both, over the next day or two. Although I find it unlikely that this will happen I will be striving for this. I plan on starting tomorrow with The Oversight and hope that I can get to at leastpage 300 which would put my passed the half-way mark. I would also like to reach page 300 of Royal Assassin to reach the half way mark, tomorrow.

I have also decided that once I have completed both the oversight and royal assassin, I would like to break up the tomes with a shorter book. I haven’t decided which short book I would like to pick up yet, but my current choices are between:

  • Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes [306  pages]
  • The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross [311 pages]
  • The Bronze Key by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare [249 pages]
  • Apprentice by Rachel E Carter [357 pages]

I would love your input on which of these shorter novels I should pick up as a ‘break-book’, leave your suggestion in the comments below.

Tomes read: 2            Tomes Started: 4             Total pages: 1075

How are you finding #TomeTopple? Although my read-a-thon started extremely well I am averaging back out to my usual reading habit, although I hope I can maintain a slightly higher reading pace between now and the end of the read-a-thon. Let me know which tomes you are toppling in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

