General · Reading

Review: Legacy of Kings

Hey guys,

So I am finally catching up on some of the reviews I have left to do and honestly I need a break from reading because I am getting a headache. So, here I am talking about the final book I read in March 2017; Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman.

legacy of kings.png

Legacy of Kings is the first book in the ‘Blood of Gods and Royals’ Series and is a young adult historical fantasy set in the time of Alexander the Great, specifically, his childhood. This did not click for me until well into the book, let alone the fact that Alexander the Great’s library is on the cover, or that his name is all over the back of the book. I honestly thought that this was going to be complete fantasy and have no real connections to the world. Oh how I was wrong. But this doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, because I did. Just not as much as I thought I would.

Legacy of Kings follows five main characters; Alexander: while he is still a child and the heir to the Macedon throne, Katerina: a poor village girl, Jacob: a warrior from the village, Hephaestion: Alexander’s best friend, and finally Zofia, a Persian princess. These five character’s start off completely separate and through their own struggles, their lives become entwined and it’s beautiful. This is one part of the book that I thought was excellently done- the melding of the characters really bought the story to life. But I still had trouble with this book.

My main concern was the pacing, there really wasn’t a consistent pace with this; the first quarter of the book was the usual build-up pace where you are introduced to the characters and their situation. The middle half, it just seemed to drag and nothing really felt like it happened. But then in the last quarter so much starts happening that I struggled to keep up. This was not helped by the constant swapping between points of view, now this wouldn’t usually be an issue but there are no indicators that the characters have swapped and it would take a few sentences before I even realised. This itself broke the flow of the book and took key elements from the book and distorted them.

My other ‘concern’ was that the book is described as ‘Royalty. Magic. Love. Betrayal. It’s in their blood.’ There really isn’t much in the way of magic or really betrayal either, there are hints and suggestions towards these but other than one plot point they really aren’t met. I do, however, think that as the start of the series it is only showing us snippets of the whole storyline, so the magic and real plot lines of betrayal may come later.

empire of dust.pngAlthough I had some problems with this book, overall I did enjoy it; I have been thinking about the characters since, wondering what they are getting up to next. I am curious as to what happens in the rest of the series as ‘Empire of Dust’ was released at the end of 2016 and the third book in the series ‘Reign of Serpents’ is due to be released this year; I think I may be picking up Empire of Dust once I have come off my book buying ban.

Have you read Legacy of Kings? Let me know your thoughts and feelings in the comments below.

Helen x

Leave a Reply

