General · Reading

April TBR 2017

Hey guys,

So I know I disappeared again in March, but I swear it’s because I haven’t been able to physically type; I got injured at work and I have been doing physiotherapy and undergoing some treatment as I have taken my hands out of action. But don’t worry, I can now type without being in too much pain so I am back. Unfortunately, not being able to use my hands meant that everything came to a stand-still in Mach; in total I read 3 books (reviews will be up soon!) and got almost no writing done. However, I am off for majority of April, because of my line of work; no hands mean no work. So, here are my plans for April!

RYBSAT

As you may (or may not) be aware, RYBSAT Round 10 is currently underway, I am participating in this and have completed 2 books so far. RYBSAT rules basically states that you pick a place on your bookshelf and you read your way along during the time; however because it’s a special RYBSAT it’s been extended to 2 weeks (meaning it now ends on the 10th April) and you can now read in any direction (forward, backward, up, down, and diagonally).

I am currently reading ‘The Gender Game’ by Bella Forrest, this is a fast and short YA dystopian where there are two civilisations (one matriarchy, one patriarchy) divided by a river. It is just over 400 pages however due to formatting (really large font and huge areas of blank paper per page, it feels a lot closer to a 200-250 page book. I spent less than half an hour reading this last night and have reached the quarter point in the story. This will be my first read of April!

Next I am picking up ‘First Year’ by Rachel Carter, the first book in The Black Mage Series. This is another weirdly formatted book, large font with large spacing and this one is only just over 300 pages (301 to be precise). I picked this up at a whim a short while back without knowing too much about it or the series, however it is magic based YA which means it should be relatively quick to read; it has been compared to ‘Throne on Glass’ and ‘Falling Kingdoms’ both of which I love.

The next book along is another magic based book and this time it’s actually completing a series instead of starting one (yay me!); ‘The High Lord’ by Trudi Canavan is the final book in the ‘Black Magician Trilogy’ and I read the first two books in a sitting each (although this is a little larger at 642 pages). I have been wanting to finish this series off for so long because I love the world and the characters, hopefully it will be a quick read but honestly I wont mind taking a few days to read this one.

Guys, I am on a role for finishing series in this read-a-thon now; I decided to move directly down after ‘The High Lord’ and have selected ‘The Midnight Star’ by Marie Lu, the final book in the Young Elites Trilogy. I adored the first two books in this series and I have (once again) been meaning to pick this up since it was released. I have so many thoughts and predictions about this final instalment that it has made me quite nervous about reading it. Although it has been a while since I read The Rose Society, I remember everything that happened- I love when that happens!

The final book I plan on picking up just for RYBSAT is ‘Curtsies and Conspiracies’ by Gail Carriger, the second book in the Finishing School Series. I started this one a while ago and only got about 50 pages in, I love the book I just fell into a reading slump. But now I am back I really want to get on and read this series because it is a light funny read, and at only 310 pages I know it will go quite quick.

Tome Topple (7th – 21st)

Now, there is an overlap between RYBSAT and Tome Topple, and I plan on using the overlapping days to move down to two books that meet the 500 page requirement for Tome Topple. There are several challenges however my TBR isn’t really based around those (other than the one graphic novel I picked!).

The first book on my TBR is ‘Wintersong’ by S. Jae-Jones, this is a fantasy retelling of one of my favourite movies while I was growing up, Labyrinth. I have heard nothing but amazing things about this book and I cant wait to pick it up. At 504 pages it just makes the requirement to be a tome, and I am so glad!

The next book on my TBR is ‘The Oversight’ by Charlie Fletcher, this has been compared to ‘The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare and from reading the synopsis I can see why. It is a fantasy based book about people who ‘polices the lines between the mundane and the magical’, where there used to by thousands of this group but now there are few (very much like The Mortal Instruments). However, I loved the Mortal Instruments series, I binge read them all last year (except the last one because I am still working on the Infernal Devices Series and don’t want to be spoiled!). At 527 pages I hope I fly through this.

 The third book I plan on picking up for Tome Topple is ‘Ink Heart’ by Cornelia Funke, the start of the Ink Heart Series. This sounds like such a magical and fun story, and at 542 pages it is definitely a tome. I hope I get to this before the end of the two week read-a-thon.

The final tome for this read-a-thon is a continuation in a series I started towards the end of last year and I loved, ‘Royal Assassin’ by Robin Hobb. I fell in love with Robin’s writing last year and I have had the rest of the Farseer trilogy since I read the first one but they get a lot larger compared to the first, and I must admit that this intimidated me! However, I am in a high fantasy kick at the moment, and these tend to be on the larger side and honestly, I cant wait to get back into a world that intrigued me the way this one did. At 648 pages, I know this will take me a while to get through; and if I don’t finish this during the actual read-a-thon, I will happily continue reading this after.

Now I have mentioned the graphic novel challenge associated to this read-a-thon, and I wanted to choose one of the graphic novels on my shelf because I know I fly through them and it will give me the reading push I need to handle all of these large books. I decided to pick up ‘Twilight’ A graphic novel Volume 1, written by Stephanie Meyer and illustrated by Young Kim. Now this is definitely not a tome, but not many graphic novels are over 500 pages and I am okay with having this in the read-a-thon.

So, you may have noticed that the Tome Topple read-a-thon doesn’t cover the whole month and since there is still a week or so after, I have selected two additional books that I would like to add. I predict that some of the tomes may have over-flowed from the actual read-a-thon but I would like a few to choose from if I wanted to.

The first additional book I would like to get to is ‘Queen of Hearts’ by Colleen Oakes, a very short Young Adult fantasy based on Alice in Wonderland. I have been wanting to read this for a while and I really hope that I get to this. I have heard good things about this and am hoping that I will love it because I have the sequel already.

The final book on my TBR for the month is ‘ruin and rising’ by Leigh Bardugo, this is the final instalment in the Grisha Trilogy; I loved the first two books in this series and have been meaning to finish it for a while. While I want to read this mainly for storyline, I also want to get to Leigh Bardugo’s newest duology and as it is set in the same world I really want to finish one series before starting another one.

So, there are the 12 books that I hope to get to this month. I have fallen behind on my reading challenge for Goodreads, mainly because of injury, so I am playing catch-up this month. The more I can read the better.

What do you plan on reading this month? Are participating in any of these read-a-thons, let me know in the comments below. If you have any posts or videos about what you are reading, leave me a link below!

Thanks for reading guys!

Helen x

3 thoughts on “April TBR 2017

  1. Hope you’re a lot better now.
    I plan to participate in Tome Topple, since I’m already reading 2 big books so I’ll just push myself to read more of them then.
    By the way, I’d also like to read Wintersong. It sounds like something I’d enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Zezee, Yes thank you, I am feeling less in pain and honestly I cant wait to go back to work! I love participating in the Tome Topple, I always feel like I accomplish something at the end of it even if I just finish one book. I cannot wait to start Wintersong, it sounds amazing and I think I am going to love it- I’ll be posting a spoiler free review as soon as I have devoured it!
      Thanks for stopping by again Zee!

      Like

Leave a Reply

