General · Reading · Writing

Weekly wrap-up: March #1

Hey guys,

So I am trying a different wrap-up technique again this month and weekly seems to fit my time better than daily or  monthly. It means I can talk about what I have been up to and what I plan over the next week!

Reading:

So, if you haven’t seen I have completed my first book of March; Frostblood by Elly Blake, honestly I did enjoy this but found it a little predictable in places. I have a full (spoiler free) review up on here already, something I am quie proud of as I still haven’t posted my reviews from January or February!

After finishing that, I decided to try and continue on with my ‘currently reading shelf’ challenge by picking up The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. I only managed to read 20-30 pages of this before I felt my attention slipping. I have put this back down but only so I can read something to drag my energy levels back up (we all have reading energy levels… right?).

So I picked up Curtsies and Conspiracies by Gail Carriger; the sequel to Etiquette and Espionage which I read earlier this year and absolutely loved. So, although I am not making the progress I really wanted to, I am at least making progress on series I am already reading- which is a good thing!

Writing

I have not done the amount of writing I would have liked to by this point; I have only reached my 500 word goal once and so far I am averaging closer to 100 words a day. However, I have been doing a lot more brainstorming and planning rather than actual writing.

I have been ‘plotting’ scenes out almost daily, taking up pages in my journals which means I have probably written more than I believe I have. I am challenging myself to work on some of these scenes more over the next week and hopefully start reaching my challenge goals.

My favourite piece I have worked on this week is a guardian angel piece which I think wants to be worked into a novella length piece as it seems to be getting more and more complicated the further I go.

Coming Up…

So, this week is ‘AYearAThon’ monthly read-a-thon of which I hope to partake. I will be posting my TBR (very short TBR) for this later today! I also have a very busy schedule at work this week which means that I probably wont get very much done. However, if I cant get one or two books finished this week and meet my writing goal at least twice I shall class it as a successful week!

What have you been working on this week? Let me know in the comments below! I love knowing what my readers are working on, whether its your currently reading book or your current WIP.

Thanks for stopping by guys,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

