Reading

Review: Frostblood

Hey guys,

So I am finally doing reviews as I finish books! Yey for me! I have just finished Frostblood by Elly Blake and it was a decent first book in a series. That being said I did find it somewhat predictable in places and I have a few comments on the ending.

Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies…
Ruby is a fireblood. In a land reuled by frost, her very
existence is a crime. She’s spent her whole life in hiding.
Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill
her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.
She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court
of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus-
a Frostblood rebel- by her side. But with alliances between flame
and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?
Ruby will only have one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler
who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot
her fire will burn…

At first this sounds like a court based espionage based fantasy where you spend a lot of time seeing the main character pretend to be someone they are not to sneak into the court: this is nothing like what this happens.

frostblood.png

This is a gruelling story of Ruby getting hurt again and again with small specks of hope. Which means its a pretty good fantasy. There is death, pain, and so much suffering. I love it. The action starts right on the first page and it hooks you, it hooked me so bad that I read this entire book in one sitting!

Now, the plot can be a little predictable; with love interests and certain plot turns being typical for the YA genre. But it is still really enjoyable.

The ending was a little flat for me, I was expecting something explosive and huge; but it didn’t end how I thought it would and although it has left me wanting to know what happens next, it didn’t have the punch it built up to. Talking of the next book, Fireblood is the second instalment in the series and although frostblood was only released in February, it is set to release in September of this year! I am pre-ordering this!

Overall, this was a decent series starter. I rated it 4/5 on my star rating and will be definitely going forward with this series.

Let me know if you enjoyed this book!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

