Reading

March TBR

Hey guys,

So we are finally on March of 2017, doesn’t it seem to be flying away? Soon we will be in June and half the year will be gone! And my reading is already slowly falling behind schedule!

A quick update:

My goal for the year is to read 75 books, this means I need to read at least 6 books each month to make this. According to Goodreads I have only completed 12 books so far this year, which means I am one behind (technically only 0.5 behind as I need to read 6.25 books a month). So it is not terrible, but I do need a bit of a push as I have a few really busy months coming up.

So, in order to push myself, I have set a TBR of 9 books (this may go up as I have a non-confirmed annual leave week in March, this TBR is if I don’t get that week!). Some of these may look slightly familiar to you…

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson; is the first books in the Mistborn trilogy and I started this a while ago and have meant to pick it back up because I loved the start. I have roughly 200 pages left to read and really just need to sit down and get it done! Let’s see if this is finally the month for it!

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, is the first book in a new (apparently 6 book) series and I have already started this one as well. I have roughly half the book left and this is another one of my remaining ‘currently reading’ novels.

Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase) by Rick Riordan, is another of my ‘currently reading’ shelf challenge and although it has a bookmark in it is barely past the first few chapters. I have adored ever Riordan book I have ever read, and I have the second book in the Magnus Chase Series waiting to be read. I have to get to this book this month.

Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes is the last book from my ‘currently reading’ challenge; the third book in the ‘Falling Kingdoms Series’ and I am currently half way through and really it should only take me a few hours to complete. I need to get on and read this as I have all of the currently published books in this series waiting to be read.

Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie, this is a young adult fantasy book that has been sat on my shelf for so long that I really just want to see what drew me to it. I know almost nothing about this book, it is a fantasy based on a young girl being able to either save or destroy a kingdom.

The High Lord by Trudi Canavan, is the final book in the ‘Black Magician Trilogy’; a trilogy I started towards the end of last year and flew through the first two books in almost one sitting each. However, The High Lord has sat on my shelf for almost three months and I keep telling myself to pick it up, hopefully this will be the month that I finally do!

Frost Blood by Elly Blake is a new release for February; this is a young adult fantasy based on the concept of elemental blood (by the looks of it, it is fire v frost) and the main character is known as a ‘fireblood’ in a world that is ruled by ‘frostbloods’ which means she is in  some serious danger. This sounds amazing and may just be the first book I pick up this month.

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard is the final book in the ‘Red Queen’ Trilogy and I have waited so long for this final instalment of the series. I have mixed feelings about this series already (I struggled to get through ‘Glass Sword’) and have heard some really disheartening reviews of the book. However, I do plan on making my own opinion and hence I need to get it read this month!

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen is the final book in the tearling trilogy and I started this in February and it slipped me back into my reading slump. Not to say it was bad, I just wasn’t in the mood for the constant flipping between timelines and some of the characters in the one time line. But I really want to finish this series because I loved the first book that much (before it really introduced the second time line) and think it deserves to be completed.


Thank you for sticking with my guys, remember I will be doing my #wordchallenge 500 words a day challenge throughout March so this may impact my reading slightly (especially on days where I have long shifts and have to choose between the two on an evening before bed).

So, what are you planning on reading this month, let me know in the comments below (if you have a blog post, drop the link below I love checking out other blogs!).

Thanks for stopping by guys, here’s hoping for a successful reading and writing month!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

