General · Reading

Currently reading

Hey Guys,

So I have been starting quite a few books recently, haven’t been finishing many mind you. So I have decided to try and get some of these finished over the next month or so (aiming for the end of March) bar next week for the #becausedragonsRAT because I have a TBR ready for that!

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFavers

This is the first in the His Fair Assassin series; I only started this a few days ago and am currently just under 100 pages in. Hopefully I can get this read soon but I am finding it difficult for it to hold my attention, if I am being honest. Every few pages I am putting it down for one thing or another; but I need to get my butt in gear and get it read.

Magician by Raymond E Heist

This is my most recent book buy, well technically it was my Dad’s most recent book buy but I have commandeered them. This is the start of a huge and proclaimed fantasy series; I do mean huge with 23 books in total. Being proclaimed at the ‘Original Masterwork of Magic and Adventure’ I had to get stuck straight in, even though its over 800 pages and I have a small mountain of currently reading books to get through! I will never learn.

Dangerous Women Part 1 by George R.R. Martin and Various other authors

This is a high fantasy short story collection; including a short story from the Game of Thrones world. I am currently half way through the first ‘short story’ which means I am approximately a quarter of the way through the book; George’s book takes up half of the page count! This is currently sat on my bedside table, picked up in the middle of the night if I need some late night reading. I would like to push on and get as much read over the next month as possible as I have the rest of the Dangerous Women Collections and their Rogues collection too.

Bluemoon by Alyson Noel

This is the type of book I tend to read when I cant focus, really light paranormal romance; a genre I usually refuse to be in the same room with (that goes for the romance genre in general- but there are exceptions to every rule!). I started this months ago when I read the first in the series in one sitting. I do need to get it done because I have the last four in the series to get through too.

The Elites by Natasha Ngan

Okay, I started this in the summer; but it was so predictable that I just put it down. I think I have less than 100 pages to go and really I just need to sit my butt down and get it done.

Assassin’s Creed: Underworld by Oliver Bowden

Now this is barely a current read, mainly because I have read less than 50 pages. I really struggled to get into this and that is the simple reason for putting this down; but I love the game version and I know that once I settle into it, it’ll be great. I hate that settling period.

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

I don’t know why I put this book down, I loved the first 50 pages or so and I cant actually remember why I stopped. I have loved every moment of Rick Riordan’s work in the past, I even have the next book in the series waiting to be read. I just need to get my head together and enjoy this book. I am disappointed in myself that I haven’t finished it yet.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

This is another that got put down for no reason, then I got distracted by another book and bam it was lost to the currently reading shelf and forgotten about. I got over half way through this, and lo-and-behold I even have the sequels because I loved the world that much while I was reading. I have no excuses.

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Okay, this one is a little different. I loved and I mean loved this book; I have gotten to part 3 using a technique I thought would be great. Mainly because of how hugely intimidating this book is, I decided that I would let myself read another book every time I completed a ‘part’. It was a huge mistake, I should have just powered through but I stopped to read another book and then I binged that series and it got put on the currently reading shelf of doom. I have parts 3-5 left and I plan on just sitting down and getting them done.

Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Why!?! I love this series. I love it. I have the next 2 books waiting and yet every time I go to pick this one back up, I get distracted. I don’t understand it. I love the world. The characters. Everything. So why I cant just sit and read it is, it’s beyond me. But that is the plan anyway, get it done because I have heard that it only gets better (and the final book is out this year!).

Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

This is another that really shouldn’t count but does because the bookmark is still in there. I started this on the bus home one of the days last year, mainly because I finished the book I had originally taken with me and this was in my bag because I had just bought it. I have read approximately 30 pages and enjoy the concept, haven’t really gotten to know the world and its characters properly yet. But then I got home, put it down and just never picked it back up again. Unbelievable.

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Keri Maniscalco

Okay, this one I put on the side for a simple reason; I found it really really slow. It was the group book for a recent read-a-thon and I started with the hope of finishing it on the first day, second at a push. When I got to the third day and I hadn’t reached the half-way point I knew it wasn’t read-a-thon material and put it down to pick up when I could read slower without worrying about completing challenges etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Okay, well guys that means I have 12 books that currently have bookmarks at one point or another and really should have been finished months ago. I plan on focusing on these, until I get down to less than 5 (that sounds like a good number). Other than the ‘becausedragonsRAT next week, these will be my focus for a while. I’ll also grab a few more books from my TBR shelves to pack out my March TBR but I’ll save those for the start of March.

I think I will pick up Impostor Queen first, since it is the oldest on my currently reading shelf. As I have nothing planned for the rest of the day, maybe I’ll be able to get it read in one sitting; you never know!

Let me know, how many books have you got bookmarks in at the moment? Are you a one-book-at-a-time reader or do you dip in and out of books at your fancy? Let me know!

I’ll keep you up-dated on my progress every time I tick one of these off my list. I know some (hello The Final Empire) are going to take longer than other, but I just need to focus on getting them done.

Thanks for reading guys, until next time.

Helen x

2 thoughts on “Currently reading

    1. Oh I know the danger of starting a book while waiting for a book haul to arrive, how do you think most of these ended up on the ‘currently reading shelf of doom’? I have the best intentions, ‘oh I’ll make sure I finish this before I start X,Y and Z’, but then they arrive and bam book forgotten about. I should have chosen a short book! I always seem to pick large books for fillers, even though I know that Amazon will deliver the next day and there’s no way I’m starting a book just before bed and finishing it before the delivery arrives at my door!

      Thanks for taking the time to leave me a comment, they mean a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

