General · Reading

#becausedragonsRAT TBR

Hey guys,

So, we all know that I love me a good read-a-thon and what’s better than a read-a-thon that runs straight through my birthday week and is fantasy based! This read-a-thon was created by Jordan over on tumblr and it looks amazing, it has a few challenges but overall it just wants you to read some fantasy books from your shelf.

20th – 26th February 2017

As mentioned, this read-a-thon has five challenges!

  1. read a diverse fantasy book
  2. read a fantasy book with a steamy romance
  3. read a fantasy book with purple on the cover
  4. read the next fantasy book in a series (or start a new series)
  5. read a fantasy book with dragons in

Simple challenges but amazing, I love that they guide your reading without being too challenging! Lets get onto the books!

Now I am picking from my February TBR instead of my whole bookshelf as I am challenging myself to stick to my TBR’s more as I seem to set them then read anything but those books. Which means I cant fill all of these challenges but I got most of them!

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johensen

This is the final book in the Tearling trilogy and has purple on the cover; I cant really talk about the premise of this book without spoiling some of the previous books and we all know that this is a spoiler free blog- who wants to be accidentally spoiled? Pfft. Although this covers two challenges, I will only be using this for challenge number three.

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

This is the second book in the infernal devices trilogy, the prequel series to The Mortal Instruments series. I have been trying to read this trilogy for ages, I flew through Clockwork Angel last year and I just haven’t seemed to get around to picking this one up. I will be using this to complete challenge number two, as this has a pretty famous romance in and since it is a steampunk-y book, you can bet it will be steamy.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

This is the start of the Darker Shade of Magic Series, I know very little about this book because I have heard that that is how you should go into Victoria’s books. This has been on my radar for what feels like forever and has been sat on my TBR shelves for well over a year now.

A Whole New World (A Twisted Tale) by Liz Braswell

This is a retelling of Aladin, but apparently a twisted and darker version of the tale. This sounds absolutely amazing and I cannot wait to devour it, especially as the next retelling has just been delivered! This will be used to complete challenge number one.

The final book I would at least like to start during this read-a-thon, but I highly doubt I will finish is The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E Pearson; the final instalment in the Remnant Chronicles. This book is huge, at almost 700 pages; but I would like to get a good chunk of it read during this read-a-thon with the hope of finishing it before the end of the month.

So those are the books I plan on getting to during this week-long read-a-thon; a week that I also happen to have off from work- yay for good timing! Do you plan on joining in with this read-a-thon? Have you got some fantasy books you would like to read? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading guys, I will keep you updated throughout the week!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

