Reading

Review: The Covenant Series

Hey guys,

So I have recently read the acclaimed Covenant Series by the wonderful Jennifer L. Armentrout and honestly I didn’t think I would like this series when I first started it because I thought I had moved past the paranormal romance phase of my reading. This series proved me wrong. Other than the first book Half-blood, I read all of this series across a two week span (almost all within one week) and honestly I thought that this series just got better and better. It started really quite well, a great introduction to the world and the characters.

I’ll only really be talking about the first instalment Half-blood because I really don’t want to spoil anything.

covenant

The Hematoi descend from the union of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi, pure-bloods, have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals- well, not so much. Half-bloods have only two options: becomes trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:

Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.

Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem- staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and being a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

Okay, the original reason I picked this series off my shelf was because of the half-blood factor; I had just finished Heroes of Olympus and I wanted more Greek God children in my life. This is nothing like Rick Riordan’s world, this is definitely the new adult version, and it deals with some darker topics.

Some of the biggest topics covered in this series were slavery, equality, sexuality, grievance, addiction, and social expectations. I know that sounds like a pretty big and dark list but guys these are done exceptionally well; none of these topics felt forced and none of them felt like a token theme. Although sexuality is minor (there is a fear of acceptance sub-plot that I found was wonderfully done) the others are pretty much reliant on the main plot line, as the main plot is Alex’s struggle against members of the society who want to keep the half bloods segregated and subdued into slavery.

This is my first Jennifer L Armentrout book and I can honestly say it wont be my last! I love her writing, the effort she puts into her characters and how she builds her worlds. I love how she twists and works in some big serious topics into paranormal romance; a genre I previously believed to be lacking. I thought this series was a wonderful place to start getting into Jennifer’s books because they are short, really fast paced, and they leave you wanting for nothing.

Please, please, please; take the time to check out this series, they are beautifully written, diverse reads that honestly make me smile so much. There is no second book slump, there is no meandering plot lines, there is nothing but developing characters and a realistic plot line that doesn’t make huge assumptions or unnatural decisions.

Definitely one of the best series I have ever read! Please, if you havent already, go and pick up this series!

Half-Blood (The First Covenant Novel) (Covenant Series)

Helen x

Leave a Reply

