Reading

The Goodreads Tag!

Hey guys,

So I have been floating around YouTube and one of my favourite booktubers (The Little Book Owl) posted her response to the Goodreads Tag, now she did inform us that this is an old tag and although she has looked (and I did some digging too) we cant find the original post so apologies to the original creator as I would love to credit you for this tag! There are 11 original questions to the tag, plus one that Catrina added in her response, so lets get cracking shall we?

goodreads.png

What was the last book you marked as read?

For me, this was Divine by Mistake by P.C. Cast; yes I am scheduling this post to go up during an extremely busy period for me so the responses are from the last week in August. This is the first book in a series and I really loved it, I highly recommend picking it up because its hilarious, has a good plot and I loved the characters.

What are you currently reading?

Oh boy this is going to be interesting…

Now according to my goodreads shelf I am only reading 3 books, according to the physical pile of books on my desk I am reading a lot more.

Goodreads self:

  • The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine
  • The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman
  • Half-blood by Jennifer L Armentrout

Other books I’m part way through…

  • Bluemoon by Alyson Noel
  • The Copper Gauntlet by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black
  • The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  • Covet by JR Ward
  • The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
  • Enchantress by James Maxwell
  • Winter by Marissa Meyer

I think I have a little problem…

What was the last book you marked as ‘to-read’?

The last book I added was one that popped up on my recommended reads (a function I really like because it gets me in touch with a lot of books I knew nothing about!) and that is Becoming (Daughters of Saraqael #1) by Raine Thomas. This is the start of a fantasy series where the main character has some kind of ‘explosion’ every three years, this results in life craziness, foster care, problems with her love life- oh and the weight of a whole species on her shoulders. This sounds amazing and honestly I cant wait to get this book.

What is the next book you plan on reading?

As I am currently working through my TBR for Bout of Books 17.0 I actually have my next few books lined up ready to go! The next on the pile is A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas, a fairy-tale retelling for sleeping beauty. Followed by Ashes by Ilsa Black, a post apocalyptic dystopian with cannibals and superhumans… two totally different books, one totally awesome TBR pile!

Do you use the star rating system?

I do, however I tend not to dwell on it during my reviews. I tend to mention my star rating briefly at the end of the review mainly because I don’t want people to think this book isn’t worth the time because I didn’t think it was 4 or 5 stars. I would rather people look at the characters, plot and world; my view on these and then my summary with a handy-dandy star system so they (if they want to) can compare my feelings to others.

Are you doing a 2016 reading challenge?

Yes! I originally set my reading challenge for 50 books, then a few months ago I hit 50 books and decided that I wanted to extend it. I set it at 75 books for a while (I have currently read 75 books- irony) but I was approaching it extremely fast and wanted to still feel the challenge towards the end of the year (when, if I am honest, if when my reading slows). So a few weeks ago I upped it again, this time to 100 books for the year; I m currently 13 books ahead of schedule and plan to reach 100 by the end of September.

goodreads challenge.png

Do you have a wishlist?

No, not a public one. This is for a variety of reasons. Firstly, the presentation of a wishlist indicates that I would like other people to purchase books for me; and as someone who feels this pressure a lot while I am with friends I don’t feel it appropriate to ever consider that this is something that they have to do. Secondly, if I see all the books I really want to buy in a single list… I buy those books- bank balance be damned! I compiled a list at the beginning of the year, only to have bought all of the books two weeks later and had no money until April. Lesson learnt. Thirdly, I am currently trying to get my TBR pile down to less than 50 books and if I am constantly thinking about all the books I want to buy, by putting them on a list, then chance is I am not going to get anywhere near my goal.

What book do you plan on buying next?

Erm, this is a difficult one; mainly because I am technically broke and haven’t really thought about buying books for a few months now. However, I do have a lot of first books on my shelves so I would like to purchase more towards series. On this note, I would probably buy the rest of the Shatter Me series as I have the first and I have heard that I will want to continue with the series straight away.

Do you have any favourite quotes?

If I am honest, this is not a function I even know existed on Goodreads; I do have several that I love but have never actually put on Goodreads. I do plan on sharing these on an upcoming post, so I’m not going to put my favourite quotes here because then what is the point of my other posts. 🙂

Who are your favourite authors?

Do I need to really mention my favourite? The Queen that is J.K Rowling holds the true title for my favourite author. My second favourite author is Sarah J Maas, I adore her Court of Thorns and Roses Series and her Throne of Glass Series is one of my favourite of all time. Another of my favourite authors must be Maria V Snyder, I love her writing and creativity with the worlds she develops.

Are you a member in any groups on Goodreads?

Yes, I am member of several; although I’m not hugely active in those groups I do tend to vote in polls and when I can read the monthly books. I do plan on becoming a member of more groups on Goodreads over the next year, and becoming a more active member in groups. The five groups I am currently in are:

  • The Life of a Book Addict
  • Addicted to YA
  • #AYearAThon
  • All about Fantasy
  • Online book bloggers

Final question added by Catrina: What would you improve about Goodreads?

One of the things I struggle with goodreads is the review/ marking thing as read for your challenge. If you don’t include it in your currently reading shelf (say you read a book in one sitting and tend to only update Goodreads once a day and not every few pages…) then you have to first transfer it to your read shelf, then go to the books main page, then view your review, then update your review, before you can change the date for it to classify into your year challenge. This is a huge inconvenience, mainly because on your phone (where I usually update) this is a lengthy process; I personally would prefer is the date screen came up whether you say I’m finish from the reading progress of from moving it to the read shelf.

Another feature I would love to see was inspired by Catrino, a re-read style; however I would have the date screen (as mentioned above) that once you have read a book adds a space for a re-read date, once that is filled automatically add another space for a date. This way you can count them in multiple challenges, you know how often you are reading the same books, and you can see how many times you have re-read the book. I think that would be an awesome feature for people who love to re-read books!


I really enjoyed writing this tag, it really made me think about how I utilise Goodreads and maybe how to organise (especially the books I want to read) my lists. Again, this post was written during August; October and November are going to be especially busy periods for me and I would like to keep the content and blog posts active during this time. Thanks for sticking with me!

Helen x

One thought on “The Goodreads Tag!

  1. Yes, a little problem there, lol! I have a lot going at once too, mostly because some are from the library so I have to read them before the due date.
    And yes, I would love if Goodreads came up with a solution for marking rereads.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

