Reading

Top 5: Series I want to finish this year!

Hey guys,

So this is basically what I’ve named it, these are the top 5 series that I have on my TBR shelves that I want to complete this year. Now, I believe that these are all fully complete series/ trilogies; however, if you know that they are not please let me know in the comments below because then I can add them to my to-buy list! These series are not in any particular order…

The Covenant Series by Jennifer L Armentrout

So this is a five book series (plus a few novellas) based on the demon fighting species known as the Hematoi (decedents of Gods and Mortals); similar to another series I have highly enjoyed! I am currently reading the first instalment Half-blood (at the time of writing), but plan on making my way through all five of the novels associated with this series by the end of the year. They are short and relatively fast paced so I am hoping that this can easily be completed in the next few months.

The Immortals by Alyson Noel

This is another really long series, well, it has six books but they are all around the 300 page mark so not that long. Now I have completed the first instalment and have gotten through half of the second, I haven’t picked it back up yet because I really need to be in the mood for this type of story. It is a typical paranormal romance, similar to Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyers; and honestly there are a lot of plot holes and flat characters which means that these are the books I read when I cant focus or have a lot going on. But I do plan on pushing my way through all of these because honestly they are taking up valuable bookshelf space and since I am aiming to get my TBR book cases down to two instead of three, space is precious!

The Cursed Kingdoms Trilogy by Emily Gee

This is an epic high fantasy trilogy set in a dying world, where an ancient curse has been awakened and people are dying and going crazy. I have read the first instalment, The Sentinel Mage and I loved it, we are following a group of mages who are transporting the only person who can break the curse to three destinations that when his blood is spilt and hand placed on each one, the curse can be broken. There are several other things that are going on, there are assassins after him, there is the hate for mages, there are the walking dead (metaphor but pretty close metaphor) at every turn, oh and the closest person to the Prince (the guy spilling his precious blood everywhere) is actually a mage who has shape-shifted into a man- breaking the biggest shape-shifting law. I plan on reading both the Fire Prince and The Blood Curse in September, so hopefully this will be one ticked off my list rather quickly!

The Chronicles of Ixia by Maria V Snyder

So this is another high fantasy series that follows several characters (well, there is five books from one point of view and a trilogy from a second point of view) in the happenings of a continent. There is magic and fighting, assassins and magical creatures; honestly these books are amazing. So far I have completed the first five (Poison Study, Magic Study, Fire Study, Storm Glass, and Sea Glass) and have loved every single one; I do have the final three instalments (this is the series I am unsure whether is complete or not- guess I will find out at the end of Night Study).

Ashes Trilogy by Ilsa Black

So I have yet to start this trilogy (at the time of writing) and the only reason this has been put on this list is because I had bought each book in the trilogy separately, based on reading the back, without knowing that they were in fact a trilogy. That, for me at least, says that I am probably going to love each book in this trilogy; its a dystopian that has been compared to The Hunger Games by Susan Collins however instead of a murderous competition, Alex is a survivor of an electro-magnetic pulse that has caused half the surviving population to develop abilities and the other half to start craving human flesh. Sounds amazing!

So those are the top five series I would like to ‘complete’ by the end of 2016, I know I only have a few months left but I am hoping that I can push through these and if I don’t finish them, at least make a large amount of progress of them. I am happy with the number of series I have completed so far this year, it has been one of the best reading years I have ever had and I feel like trying to challenge myself to really push for the end of the year.

Do you have any series that you are planning to complete by the end of the year? Let me know in the comments below!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

