Reading

I love big books and I cannot lie!

Hey guys,

So I have been going through my shelves and noticed that I have a lot of big books on my shelves, by big books I mean those over 500 pages. Now, I have read quite a few big books mainly thanks to some recent read-a-thons (Tome-Topple) but I have found 10 big books on my TBR that I really want to get to this year (well what’s left of it). If I don’t get around to reading all of these, I won’t be too sad but they will definitely be on my reading aims for 2017!

Without further ado, here are the top 10 big books that are currently sitting on my shelves that I want to read!

1.       A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

clash of kings.pngThis is the second book in the Song of Ice and Fire Series and I really want to get through the rest of this series and soon! I loved the first instalment and even though I have watched the TV series (if someone wants to come and smack my hand it’s okay!) I do want to read the books too. I know these beasty books are going to take a while to get through; the last one took weeks because of how dense they are.

2.       A Storm of Swords Part 1 and 2 by George R.R. Martin

storm of swords.pngSo, these are similar to the first, being the third and fourth instalments. I have counted these as one because I didn’t want half of this list to be the rest of the series (I have done similar below too!). I know it will be a little while before I can get to these because of having the first to get through, but I am still really excited to get to them.

3.       Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

mistbornI have counted this whole trilogy as one because they are all equally huge but I am equally excited to read all of them. This is a world where the bad guy has already won and a group of thieves (I believe) are on a quest to over-through him. This trilogy is on so many peoples top trilogy and even top fantasy lists and I feel sad that these have been on my shelves for so long and I haven’t even opened them. I hope Brandon Sanderson will become a favourite author because he has so many amazing books that I want to read!

4.       The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller

innocent mage.pngThis is book I know little about, I picked it up from a charity shop years ago and is the first half of the King Maker, King Breaker Duology. All I know is that it is huge, full of magic, and has some great reviews!

5.       Winter by Melissa Meyer

winterGuys, this is still on my list. I tried to start it a while ago but I really struggled because of the size (over 800 pages). This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles and although I have attempted to start it several times, I always stopped before I hit page 50 and I haven’t got a reason why. I really want to finish this this year because I want to focus on getting quite a few of the series off my TBR shelf since I found I had quite a few of them.

6.       The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

the blood of olympus.pngSimilar to Winter, this is the final book in the Heroes of Olympus Series and I am slowly getting there; with only the House of Hades standing between me and reading the final book. I am picking up pace with this series and is likely to be the next series I actually complete. This book isn’t on this list just for the number of pages, physically it is much larger than all of the other books in the series (standing about 2 inches taller!) which means that I can’t slide it in my handbag and read on the go as I usually do; this will definitely be a day of locking myself in my room and getting through all of the pages!

7.       Malice by John Gwynne

malice.pngThis is a recent purchase for me, my parents treated me to some books while we were on holiday and I chose this mainly because I was on an epic high fantasy hype and just wanted to get lost in a million pages of awesome adventure. Although I haven’t picked this up yet, it has been on my TBR pile a few times but I have been warned that this is a slow building fantasy so not to rush it during a read-a-thon!

8.       Blood Song by Anthony Ryan

blood song.pngThis is another book chosen for my epic high fantasy haul with my parents, this is the first book in the Raven Shadow Trilogy and what really hooked me was the concept of fighting for a secret order. Something that really drew me to this book, not just the cover which I love, but the idea that you actually watch the main character go through the brutal training many epic novels usually just refer to. It does have religious and court elements and I am looking forward to how this plays out for the first part of a trilogy. I do have the rest on my to-buy list just in case!

9.       Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A discovery of witches.pngNow this is a trilogy I have attempted to start before, I was in the middle of the worst reading slump I ever had and honestly read the first 5 pages and just put it down. This is (what I picked up so far) an urban fantasy but the reason I bought these in the first place was purely down to the raving reviews. I know that trilogies tend to start slow, especially when each of the books is well over 500 pages, so these are definitely pacing books that I’ll need to spend some time working my way through.

10.   Eragon by Christopher Paolini

eragon series.pngOkay, this series was bought on the request of a friend; this was their favourite series and I was told to read them. I picked them up and got a quarter of the way through Eragon and gave up; this was mainly because I was just getting back into reading after my huge break and I hadn’t completely understood how high fantasy writing differed from normal fantasy. I expected dragons (obviously) but I hadn’t expected the complicated nature of reading this style of book and because it wasn’t the way I imagined I stopped and I really need to try again!


So those are the top 10 books I would like to get to soon that are over 500 pages, each of those books have sat on my shelves for a while, with only two on the list being bought in the last year. I know these books are going to take me a while to get through, so I think I may dedicate a month of reading to work on some really big books.

Have you read any of these? I would love to hear some of your thoughts on them! Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “I love big books and I cannot lie!

  1. Heroes of Olympus will be a quick read. You could start with that. I’m currently making my way through Storm of Swords. The audiobook is great. I love the different voices the narrator uses. The Mistborn books and Discovery of Witches are also on my list.

    Like

    1. I have just finished House of Hades, I was considering going straight on to Blood of Olympus but I decided to tackle a few of the books I set aside for this week first and then tackle it after! I’m hoping to pick up storm of swords next month too! I have attempted A Discovery of witches before but I was in really bad reading slump hell and I could not get into it for the life of me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

