Reading

August TBR: Pre-bout of books

Hey guys,

So I thought I would let you know what my aims (reading wise) are for the next 2 weeks-ish before the Bout of Books 17.0 read-a-thon begins. I’m only putting a few books on this list, mainly because I’m jumping around the books at the moment.

The Sentinel Mage // Emily Gee

the sentinel mage.pngI decided to start this book last night and after 130 pages I am starting to really like this fantasy; it was a slower start (there were lots happening but I wasn’t connected to any of the characters and it just seemed to blur past). There are several points of view (which really helps because there are some shapeshifting involved) but each chapter is labelled with an image rather than a name, so for the first few chapters it gets a little confusing when your not sure who each chapter is. It is a longer book, compared to the other books on this list; at 509 pages.

Bluemoon (The Immortals 2) // Alyson Noel

bluemoon.pngThis is the second instalment to a paranormal romance series I started a while back, I liked the first book but it definitely felt like an easy read where you didn’t really need to think about anything because it was extremely simple. The blurb indicates some time-y-wime-y related things which will be interesting. I hope this will be a quick read as there is only 362 pages but I do have the rest of the series I want to get through soon.

Sabriel // Garth Nix

sabrie;This is the start of another series, not a surprise really (considering the number of series I have on my shelf!). This has been on my TBR for quite a while and I am quite upset that I haven’t picked it up yet, I have heard nothing but great things about this entire series and really need to get started on it! It is on the list of series I want to complete by the end of 2016, and I haven’t picked up the first (and smallest) book yet! It’s another fantasy, and honestly this seems to be a theme for the books I have picked out for the next few weeks. With 367 pages, I am hoping that I can get through this in one sitting.

 Assassin’s Apprentice // Robin Hobb

assassins apprentic.pngOh look, another start of series! This is the first book in the Farseer Tilogy, but as I believe is also the set up trilogy for other trilogies set in the same world. This is one of the books I picked up while I was on holiday and have been looking at it since I picked it up. This is all about a King’s bastard son, Fitz, and him becoming useful for the crown. At 390 pages it shouldn’t take long to read, however the font is a lot smaller.

Mark of Athena // Rick Riordan

the mark of athenaSo as I promised, I have been slowly making progress through the Heroes of Olympus Series and this is the next book I need to pick up. At 574 pages, it is the longest book on this list; but is also the book with the most perspectives, We see nearly all of the characters from the first two instalments but overall, this is Annabeth’s story and she is out for revenge!

Half the World // Joe Abercrombie

half the worldThis is the second instalment in the Shattered Sea Trilogy following Thorn; after the fast paced adventure of the first book I am hoping to fly through the second book. This is at the bottom of my pile, but I do hope that I can get to it before the start of the Bout of Books.


So those are the books I want to try and pick up before the start of the read-a-thon, wish me luck guys! What have you got lined up to read next?

Helen x

3 thoughts on “August TBR: Pre-bout of books

  1. Thanks for reminding me about Bout of Books! I’d forgotten that it’s about that time for it.
    And YES!! Read Assassin’s Apprentice. I just read the second book, which is actually better than the first but I still love the first book more.

    Like

    1. That’s the one I am looking forward to the most on my list! I keep looking at it and now I finally get to read about Fitz’s adventures! Bout of Books 17.0 starts on the 22nd and honestly I cannot wait. Love read-a-thons, I always get so much reading done! What you planning on reading (my TBR will be going up on the 20th)?

      Like

Leave a Reply

