Reading · Writing

Wrap up: 1-7th Aug ’16

Hey guys,

So, I am trying to keep myself more accounted for so I am going to start doing weekly wrap-ups for my reading and writing. Knowing that I will be writing this post at the end of the week has really pushed me to do more for my writing and reading. So, lets look at what I have done this week.

The first thing I did this week was to complete ‘Half a King’ by Joe Abercrombie, an epic adventure of a new King out to avenge his Father’s death. I have done a review for this, here. It is an excellent 4 star read, fast paced and great for getting people out of reading slumps.

The next thing I picked up was ‘Talon’ by Julie Kagawa, a dragon book! This is about two secret societies in the world that have been at war for centuries; Talon (the dragons) and the Order of St. George (dragonslayers). This was an interesting read, and honestly I put it down for a few days while I read the next book I discuss, but I am glad that I managed to get to the end of this first book in the series. I look forward to seeing where the story is heading and what happens between some of the love interests involved!

The final reading thing I did this week is one that a lot of readers will be doing… ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’ by J.K Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne. This is the eight instalment in the Harry Potter Series and is set (at the beginning) nineteen years after the battle of Hogwarts. This is not a novel of such, but rather a script; this is something that has really upset people but honestly I liked it. I enjoyed this and a full review for the book will be up next week (I am going back through and picking out a few of my favourite things to discuss a little more than I usually do).

Now I have finally done some writing related things this week, I brainstormed and began outlining two projects for NaNoWriMo this November. These are two very different stories, both of which you’ll be seeing more of over the next few months throughout some of the posts I have planned!

The first thing I did was brainstorm elements of my child ghost detective story; this follows the story of ‘the dark hour’ where child detectives use their abilities for seeing ghosts during the twilight hours to aid in cracking murders. When the MC has a ghost attached to him during in a night raid on a cemetary, he is accused of murder and has to work with a group of other innocently accused to prove he is innocent! Okay, the plot needs quite a bit of work and that’s why I’m starting earlier than normal for a NaNo project.

My second writing thing was to outline an adventure based novel, this has turned into quite a detailed adventure plan; following Shangra in her becoming a fire deity and finally being accepted by the guild of sorcerers. She becomes involved in theft, betrayal, backstabbing, and mythical creatures. I am looking forward to writing more about Shangra and her adventures, mainly because I have already entwined several messages that I want to put into this work and they have spurred some interesting sub-plots.

As I have begun plotting for NaNo I have decided that I will be starting a few mini series over the next few weeks based around three areas; characters, outlining, and plot. Where the characters and plot elements will be more advice, the outlining series will be more of an outline diary.

In other areas of my life, I have spent the majority of my time decluttering my living areas and focusing on spending time out of my room. I have been trying to be more sociable. A new hobby of mine that has not helped with this is my discovery of the sewing machine and it’s vast abilities. I have started clothing alterations and will hopefully be able to attempt to make a few pieces of my own clothing soon.

So those were my adventures for the week, I hope my productivity keeps up for next week as well.

What have you been up to this week?

Helen x

8 thoughts on “Wrap up: 1-7th Aug ’16

    1. They are quite annoying and it reads more like a contemporary than anything to do with dragons, like you could simply replace ‘talon’ and ‘st george’ with two high schools and it would still pretty much make sense. I did enjoy it, just not as much as I would hoped.
      I liked the love interests, but I also loved her brother situation. The constant ‘its her but it cant be’ annoyed me. Gotta admit.

      Like

      1. Yea, I agree that it seems like a contemporary. I was also annoyed that the color of the protagonist’s dragon scales isn’t mentioned in the story. It’s a minor thing but a huge deal for me. By the time I stopped reading I began to wonder if I’d overlooked it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

