General

Personal: 30 Day Clean Challenge

Hey guys,

So this is more of a personal post, I’m not sure whether these will be good or not; if you like them don’t forget to click the like button below to let me know that you want more. So, I have been on my weight-loss journey for almost a month (properly) and I have hit a slump so I have decided to participate in several 30 day challenges to try and boost it and get me going again.

What is a 30 day challenge?

It’s simple really, based on the concept around lent; where for a certain period of time you give something up. For this challenge, 30 days is representative of a month.

Why 30 days?

30 days has been thoroughly researched, with many psychologists finding that it takes 30 days of a new behaviour for a habit and a lifestyle change to fix and stay. As I would like my healthy habits I plan on focusing on during this challenge to stay, 30 days of ‘cold turkey’ seems essential.

So what am I giving up for 30 days?

Deciding what to give up for 30 days took quite a bit of reflection; since starting my weight-loos/ fitness journey, I have been keeping a tracker filled with everything I eat and drink throughout the day. Using this, I have identified three problem areas that over the next 30 days I am planning on banishing from my behaviour.

  1. Junk food

I am a big junk food eater, especially at night. I love doughnuts, I love crisps, I love chocolate. While I am sat doing work on an evening, I find myself snacking on anything I have in the house.

So my first pledge is:

I pledge to eat no junk food for the next 30 days, eating only home-cooked meals and snacking on whole foods only.

     2. Added sugar

I have sugar with everything and most of the time I forget that I even have it. Coffee. Cereal. Even on fruit. I have a lot of drinks that contain sugar, I have a lot of processed foods that contain a lot of sugar. Overall, I would easily state that I am addicted to sugar.

So my second pledge is:

I pledge to only eat natural sugars (with the addition of sweetner), to use no processed sugar for 30 days, and to not eat any processed food that have additional sugar in them.

      3. No Fizzy Pop

I am terrible when it comes to being hydrated, drinking a lot of carbonated drinks- especially late at night. Especially coke and diet coke, they are the drinks I turn to when I am out and about (creating a terrible amount of plastic waste).

So my final pledge is:

I pledge to drink no fizzy pop for 30 days.


I am hoping that after 30 days, I am hoping that I don’t fall back into the habits of drinking fizzy pop and eating all the rubbish.

Would you like to join me for a 30 day pledge? I plan on starting tomorrow [Monday 8th August 2016] and it will run for 30 days till Tuesday 6th September 2016. If you have a pledge (even if its one such as ‘I pledge to drink 5 glasses of water a day for 30 days’) let me know in the comments below and let me know how it goes.

I’ll be updating every sunday for the 30 days and then a final update on the 7th September.

Good luck my 30 day challengers!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

