Reading

#TBRTakedown Day 003!

Hey guys,

Another quick update from me, today has been pretty much a reading day- okay I have been marathoning the Harry Potter Movies today as well, so there have been a few stops. But overall I am quite happy with how it is going. There are still a few hours left of today so there is a chance I could make a bit more progress, but I wanted to update before the kids take over the bedroom and I cannot access my computer anymore.

My aim for today was simple, finish Catching Fire by Susan Collins, and then read as much of The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan as possible. And you know what, I did it.

catching fireI finished Catching Fire around lunch, the pace of the book really picked up in the second half so I flew through it. I loved how the story developed and you see a lot more of the different characters than you do in the movie. Something I found surprising after many claimed the movies were some of the best adaptations ever- okay they were pretty close but you definitely see more of the characters develop than you do in the movie.

the lost hero properI had a bit of a break after finishing that, spent a little while in the garden (no real aim, just trying to get some fresh air and sun… doctor says it’s healthy). But then I wanted to carry on reading, so I picked up The Lost Hero and dove straight in. Now I had attempted to read this one before, but I was sinking into a slump and didn’t reach the second chapter, but I am flying through the pages and haven’t long passed the half-way mark. It is unlikely that I will finish this tonight, unless I stay up quite late (so there is a possibility 🙂 hehe) but if not, I will happily take this 550+ page book over to tomorrow.

My aims for Day 004!

So tomorrow is the last day before the cross over with the Duodecathon, so I plan on tackling two of the reads I don’t plan on reading during that read-a-thon. Firstly, I plan on tackling The Elite by Kiera Cass, the sequel to The Selection. I have swapped Malice by John Gwynne out because many have said that it is a very slow read, and replaced it with The Elite as a book from my most recent haul (as it only arrived today!).

The second book I plan on at least starting tomorrow is The Martian by Andy Weir, to complete the only challenge left as it is a book that is outside my comfort zone. I do not mind if this book carries on over to the Duodecathon cross-over as it is also a book that could fit in some of the challenges for that read-a-thon as well.

The Challenges!

  1. A book that has been on your TBR shelf for more than a year 🙂 [A School for Good and Evil]
  2. An unread sequel sitting on your TBR shelf 🙂 [Catching Fire]
  3. A first book in a series sitting on your TBR shelf [Current: The Lost Hero]
  4. An ‘out of your comfort zone’ book on your TBR shelf
  5. A book from your most recent haul

I hope you are all having a wonderful day! Let me know what you are reading in the comments below!

Can you read more than one book at a time? Do you have a large ‘started’ pile… because over the last few weeks mine has grown and grown- I may have to spend some time just working on the books I have already started.

Helen x

2 thoughts on “#TBRTakedown Day 003!

Leave a Reply

