Reading

Duodecathon TBR Time

So guys,

The month has rolled around again and it is time for the duodecathon week for June! As usual it is the last 7 days of the month (24th to the 30th!) and I still have two challenges to complete in order to get caught up!

The Challenges:

  1. Read 1200 pages
  2. Read a book with your name on the cover
  3. Read a book set in a place you want to go
  4. Spell your name with books
  5. Listen to an audiobook
  6. Read a book with someone else
  7. Read a book someone else thinks you will love
  8. Read a book where the main character has a job you would love
  9. Read a book where the main character has a job you could see yourself doing
  10. Read a book about something you are passionate about
  11. Read a book with your favourite colour on the cover
  12. Read a book from your favourite author

As this is the sixth read-a-thon of the year, I should be completing my sixth challenge, so that means I have two to complete this week. Which ones shall they be?

Read a book with your name on the cover…

heir of nightIf you read my #TBRTakedown announcement, you know that these overlap and one of the books on that TBR was for this challenge- The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe. I am hoping to complete this read during the three overlapping days and count it as part of two read-a-thons!

Read a book someone else thinks you will love…

sabrie;I have several options for this, two of which are also on the #TBRTakedown TBR pile, The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb is constantly recommended to me, but my brother also chose (and thinks I will love) The Martian by Andy Weir. Two very different books, however the book I have set aside especially for this challenge is Sabriel by Garth Nix, a book that is constantly recommended to me and I have wanted to read for a long time. It is the start of a fantasy series, of which I own almost all of them.

And all the other books…

I have three other books that I would very much like to get to during this read-a-thon.

Firstly I would like to read Winter by Marissa Meyer, the final instalment in the Lunar Chronicles. This is a beast of a book and even if I don’t get to the end of the book I am hoping to get a huge chunk of the beast complete!

Secondly I would like to read the next instalment of the Heroes of Olympus Series, The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan. We finally get to see some more Percy in this instalment so I am looking forward to this! As Mark of Athena is on my next read-a-thon TBR, I really need to ensure that I read Son of Neptune this week.

And finally, a book that you don’t see mentioned often (I think I have only ever saw it once in a book haul) and that is The Elites by Natasha Ngan. A dystopian where there is only one city left on Earth and the mixed culture has a new caste system, Reds (ethnic Chinese population) and Elites, but when a Red makes it into the Elite all hell is bound to break loose. The blurb also mentions the Outside, so I am presuming that the city is blocked in and the world has been left to return to pre-human existence? But I could be wrong, once I complete it I will report back and let you know!


So I know that this is a small TBR compared to normal but considering the cross over with #TBRTakedown I will be happy with completing these reads! If I do get to read more, I will be turning to my trusted TBR mug to determine which books I will pick up next (or just continue series… decisions).

I hope you are all getting all of the reading done and loving everything you read!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

