Reading

#TBRTakedown Day 001!

Hey guys,

Well after a mixed weekend of reading, I am back  with a fresh start on this read-a-thon. Although I aimed for six books over the weekend, I got one book complete and three others partially finished. Mainly because I was fluttering once again. Yesterday did mark the end of two read-a-thons, both of which will be wrapped up today.

Aims  Day 001!

Well today I would like to complete one challenge and at least start the read for another, mainly because I have a full day of reading and progress and accomplishment is needed. I am starting today with the first challenge read a book that has been on your TBR shelf for more than a year, by starting A School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. This is middle-grade fiction and sounds hilarious and intriguing. Although this is almost 500 pages, I am hoping to fly through it pretty fast.

I then plan on starting Catching Fire by Susan Collins, to work towards completing the second challenge read a sequel. This is the sequel to The Hunger Games, which I absolutely loved. I am aiming for about half of the book today, if not more.

Okay, here’s what actually happened.

 I managed to complete my aims! I know shocker! I don’t usually accomplish the aims I set for daily reading, but somehow I managed it. That was including stopping to watch the England V Slovakia game and actually eating. I am quite proud.

The School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani was great, a really fast read with some amazing characters. I was extremely happy when I realised that it is in fact the start of a series and I plan on picking up the rest of the series A.S.A.P. Keep an eye out, a full review will be coming in the next few days!

The Challenges:

  1. A book that has been on your TBR shelf for more than a year
  2. An unread sequel sitting on your TBR shelf  [current]
  3. A first book in a series sitting on your TBR shelf
  4. An ‘out of your comfort zone’ book on your TBR shelf
  5. A book from your most recent haul

I am happy with my progress so far, especially considering that I have one challenge complete and a second almost complete.

Aims for Day 002!

My aim for day 2 is a simple one, I would like to firstly finish Catching Fire by Susan Collins, and then choose my next book (completing at least 100 pages!). I do have a Twitter poll up currently, with four of the options on (max they would allow).

  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
  • Spy Glass by Maria V Snyder
  • Heir of Night by Helen Lowe
  • Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb
  • The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

tbrtakedown tbr.jpg

Now these aren’t all of the books on my TBR pile (all shown in picture –>), but these are the ones that jump out to read next. I may be making a small alteration to my TBR pile, swapping out Malice by John Gwynne for the next two books in the Selection Series (The Elite & The One) by Kiera Cass. This was a recommendation from Twitter, as Malice is a slower read and I am waiting for these two books to arrive- so technically they are still in my most recent haul. I just hope they get here on time.

So was your first day of TBR Takedown? Let me know in the comments and if you are not participating, what is on your current TBR list?

Lets get back to reading!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

