Reading

Read-a-thon Wrap-ups!

Hey guys,

So you know that for the last two weeks I have been participating in two read-a-thons:

The Tome Topple (5th-19th) – Read big books and challenges

Read-o-Rama (13th-19th) – Challenges

Tome Topple

So, Tome Topple was a huge read-a-thon created by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes, encouraging everyone to read larger books as read-a-thons tend to focus on getting through as many books as possible. So in order to be considered a tome, a book had to contain more than 500 pages; but don’t worry, you could read other books as well.

There were five challenges for this read-a-thon:

  1. Read more than one +500 page book √:-)
  2. Take a break and read a graphic novel √:-)
  3. Read a 500+ page book from a series √:-)
  4. Read more than 500 pages in a week √:-)
  5. read a 500+page adult (not YA) novel √ :-)

I did complete all five of the challenges, however, the non-YA tome was previously started but it was Game of Throne by George R.R. Martin so I am just happy that I finally finished it!

  • Challenges complete: 5
  • Tome complete: 3 (plus one partial)
  • Graphic novels complete so far: 1
  • Total books read: 9
  • Total pages read: 4294

So what books did I read?

  • A Court of Mist and Fury (Sarah J Maas) completed the 500 pages in a week
  • Cress (Marissa Meyer) completed the Series challenge
  • The Winner’s Crime & The Winner’s Kiss (Marie Rutkoski) Not Tomes
  • The Magicians’ Guild (Trudi Canavan) Not a Tome
  • Saga Volume 1 (Brian K Vaughan) Completed the graphic novel break challenge
  • Storm Glass (Maria V Snyder) Contributed to read more than one tome
  • Sea Glass (Maria V Snyder) Not a Tome
  • A Game of Thrones (George R.R. Martin) Although partial, completed the non-YA challenge
  • Evermore (Alyson Noel) Not a Tome

I feel quite accomplished, especially as I usually only read 1-2 larger books a month. Definitely cleared some space on my TBR shelves!

Read-o-Rama!

You can also tell from the list, the books I completed as part of the Read-o-Rama, but lets consider the challenges.

  1. Read 7 books
  2. Read a book with RAMA in the title (doesn’t have to be all together) :-)
  3. Read a book with music
  4. Read a book to movie/TV adaption :-)
  5. Read a buddy read
  6. Read a book with a POC main character :-)
  7. Read a book of short stories
  8. Read a book with a one word title :-)

How did I manage to fill 4 challenges, without even considering them? The only time I thought about these challenges was within my original TBR, of which I haven’t stuck to. But I have managed to meet four of the challenges!

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin contributed to two challenges, as it contains the letters R-A-M-A in the title and it is also an epic TV adaptation!

Through both Storm Glass and Sea Glass by Maria V Snyder, I always read and saw Opal as a POC. It was something that attracted me to the series. For that reason, Sea Glass fills the challenge of reading a book with a POC main character.

And finally, Evermore by Alyson Noel definitely completes the challenge of a one-word title!

I am quite happy with the amount I accomplished over the last two weeks and I hope that I can participate in these read-a-thons again! Thank you to everyone involved!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

