Reading

#TomeTopple Read-a-thon TBR

Hey guys,

So this is a really unique read-a-thon created by Sam on Thoughts on Tomes on YouTube, where the aim is simple, read a big book. Now where most read-a-thons are a week long, this is actually two weeks to give slower readers the chance to really make progress on a big book. I highly recommend you check her channel out as I am always finding inspiration there and she is always motivating me go an pick up another book!

I know there will be challenges for this read-a-thon however I am hoping I can work those in around the books I have chosen (as most of these need me to read at least one book before I can read this one).

What is a big book?

Well, this is a very personal choice, however Sam outlined that a big book is over 500 pages long. However, I believe that if you are daunted by the length of a book, then you should definitely include it as a big book for this read-a-thon!

My TBR pile…

So, I will be away on holiday for the first week of the read-a-thon, which is sort of perfect because there will be quite a few hours in the car so delving into one giant book will be easier than reading two or three smaller books. However, the amount I will get to read while on holiday will depend on so many factors there is no way I could predict it. I do, however, have four books I would like to at least attempt for this read-a-thon.

Cress by Marissa Meyer

This is the third instalment of the Lunar Chronicles and at 550 pages it is just scrapes in as a big book. I have been flying through the series so far, and if I get a chance I may move on to completing Winter during this two week read-a-thon!

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Again, another final instalment of a series to read; this was named the most intimidating book on my TBR pile and I am determined to  this month! At 733 pages it is a big book, it is also formatted quite large (well, larger than most paperback books that is!).

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

This is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses that I completed recently, this is a recent release and I pre-ordered it before I even read the first. Mainly because I love Sarah J Maas!  At 624 pages it is a decent big book!

Now, if I have time other than these three books, I have another book I would like to attempt, this is the start of a large book series that have been sitting on my shelves for a while. And that is the Gentlman Bastard Series by Scott Lynch. The first book The Lies of Locke Lamora has been looking at me for a while and at 530 pages, it will be the smallest book on my TBR pile but also the last to be picked up.


So those are the books I plan on attempting for Tome Topple Read-a-thon, which do you recommend I read first? I will be practically gone while on holiday, however I will attempt to reply to any comments you make!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

