General

May 2016 wrap-up and June plans!

Hey guys,

I know most people aren’t interested in monthly wrap-ups, mainly because I tend to wrap my reading up on a weekly basis or a read-a-thon basis; so there usually isn’t much to discuss. But today, I have three areas of wrap-up; reading, writing, and plans for June.

Reading in May…

So I consider this month a successful reading month, I completed 17 reads; 1 ebook, 2 hardcovers, and 14 paperbacks. Now, a rarity occurred, 9 of the books I have read this month were given 5 stars!

  • Half Lost by Sally Green
  • Fire Study by Maria V Snyder
  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu
  • The Rose Society by Marie Lu
  • Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

When considering the list, I had a huge favour towards those who have a first name beginning with M. I loved every book on this list! Choosing a favourite book of the month is hard, but I have to follow what my heart says and A Court of Thorns and Roses is the definitive winner for me. I plan on reading A Court of Mist and Fury over the next few days because it is a larger book!

I do plan on reviewing all these books over the next few weeks (yes, even though I will be holiday) so the blog may be a bit review heavy for a little while especially considering that I only reviewed ‘two’ books this month, it is a tentative two because one was a review of the complete Half Bad Trilogy and the other was the review for The Selection. I do already have several of the reviews from this month scheduled for throughout my holiday, including The Young Elites and The Rose Society, Cinder and Scarlet, and finally, A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Thinking about the read-a-thons this month, I completed #AYearAThon, bout of books 16.0, and Duodecathon with success, however I unfortunately didn’t complete the Mental Health Awareness Read-a-thon as I was unable to secure as much reading time as I would have liked throughout that busy week.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall I am happy with my reading this month. Especially with the fact that I hit my 50 book target on Goodreads, I did notice that my motivation dipped after I reached 50 so I decided to up my target to 75 books for the year. I am sure that I will be able to read the 23 books I need to reach that target well before the end of the year, so it will probably be upped again pretty soon. Right now, I am predicting that I will read over 100 books this year, but I am unsure how much my reading will go down once I am settled into full time work.

Writing in May…

Although very little actual writing occurred in May, I did do several writing exercises throughout the month; flash fiction pieces using random idea seeds from a few of my writing books. However, I did complete several outlining projects; outlining all three of my short stories for the anthology and outlining my Romeo and Juliet retelling. I have also started jotting down more novel/ short story ideas that I plan on working on soon.

I think I definitely could have done better in terms of writing this month, however I do believe that my writing will be much better throughout June!

Plans for June!

So as you have gathered recently, I am participating in #JuNoWriMo which means one of my biggest aims this month is to write 50k across 4 projects, three short stories and one full anthology (my Romeo and Juliet retelling- although I am now considering making it a novel and not an anthology… opinions?). I will be starting the first of the three short stories today, the LGBT retelling of Hansel and Gretel, which I am getting excited about writing!

I have 18 books on my TBR for this month, plus two that are being carried over from May, The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings which currently sits at page 700, and Inside Out by Maria V Snyder which currently sits at page 65. I know I promised to get The Redemption of Althalus complete for this wrap-up, but I am seriously struggling with it guys.

Posts coming up in June…

I have spent a good while considering how I am going to tackle posts this month, in terms of reading wrap-ups, during the few read-a-thons I plan on participating in this month (Tome Topple, #AYearAThon, and DuoDecathon) I plan on doing daily reading wrap-ups. However, after my last attempt at daily writing wrap-ups, I have decided that I will be wrapping up my weeks writing every Sunday, bar the first as I will be on holiday and I cannot pre-write the updates.

In place of daily wrap-ups, I do have a host of hints, tips, inspiration, and word crawls that will be popping up throughout the month!

June also brings the end of my first quarter at setting writing goals, although I have terribly failed the goals I set myself; I do plan on spending some time this month developing a writing plan of action for July – September.

So how was your May? Overall, my May was a success; I finished my Masters Degree, settling into adult life, my reading was pretty high and although my writing could have been better I am still happy with what I produced.

Here’s to a successful June!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

