Reading

#DuoDecAThon Day 004!

Hey guys,

So although I had planned to spend the entire day reading today, I did spend quite a bit of time with the family as I had all my nieces and nephews over and they were all ridiculously loud- so I couldn’t read even if I had wanted to. But still, I have made some progress!

Firstly, I want to note the new tab up at the top there, I decided that because this is a year-long project and there are a number of challenges, it would be both interesting and beneficial to have all of the challenges and how I completed them in one nice spot. Also, if you have had a gander up there, you will also see one of the books I am going to talk about now. I plan on updating it throughout each read-a-thon, discussing whichever challenge/s I take one and the books behind them.

the winners curseSo, when I woke up this morning I needed to finish the last few pages of The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski, guys, I cannot wait to review this book. I loved it. Okay, it wasn’t a five star read for me, but it was a solid four, with only the beginning really pulling it down. I loved how strategy is discussed and worked out throughout the book and how it helps define the main character. The love interest didn’t really stick well with me, but I don’t know how that will change as the story progresses throughout the rest of the series, both of which I have added to next months TBR pile already… oh gosh that list isn’t half growing!

a court of thorns and rosesSo as I said yesterday (okay, well earlier today), I would be turning to the ‘mug of awesomeness’ to decide which book on the TBR pile I would be reading next, and with the help from my mother, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas was chosen. I had previously attempted to read this book, getting a whopping three pages in, but this time was different. This time I wanted to read this masterpiece, knowing its sequel lay waiting on my TBR pile for next month. Alright, I will admit, I didn’t manage to complete the whole of the book today, although I really wanted to- sleep- ugh! I did manage to get 172 out of 416 completed today.

untitled (74)Now, at one point between the two books on my TBR, my brother noticed I still hadn’t completed his chosen read, so to stop his nagging I decided to pick up The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings. Okay, in the hour I spent trying to read the book I only managed another 50 pages, but we all know how hard it can be pushing through 900 page mass market paperbacks, especially the tiny font! Action is picking up slightly, which I am thankful for, but I really need to push to get this beast on my wrap up for the month, even though I am happy with my progress so far!

Okay, time to look at the challenges!

  1. Read 1200 pages [in progress]
  2. Read a book with your name on the cover [in progress]
  3. Read a book set in a place you want to go
  4. Spell your name with books
  5. Listen to an audiobook
  6. Read a book with someone else
  7. Read a book someone else thinks you will love
  8. Read a book where the main character has a job you would love
  9. Read a book where the main character has a job you could see yourself doing
  10. Read a book about something you are passionate about
  11. Read a book with your favourite colour on the cover
  12. Read a book from your favourite author [in progress]

So considering the challenges I decided on for this participation, I am now in progress with almost all challenges. The challenge of reading 1200 pages will be determined at the end of the week when I can count up the total number of pages, but as it stands, it is a good chance of being well over 1200, almost 3000 in fact.

I know I haven’t mentioned any progress on the Lady Helen: The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman since day one, but honestly I haven’t felt compelled to complete it. Although I have hopes that the action will pick up and the endless clothing description will disappear, I am generally bored… never a good thing.

I also haven’t made any progress on Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas, even though I have really, really, really, wanted to. It is taunting me from my reading pile and every time I go to pick it up I have to remind myself that I am already behind on my challenges and I need to focus on those for now. I can happily take this read over to next month.


Okay, todays update has been a bit of rambling one but I am happy, I hope you all are happy, and reading books that you love and you don’t find a book you regret!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

