Reading

Duodecathon TBR

Hey guys,

So the final read-a-thon of May is coming up next week and I seriously need to get my act together and get some reading done for it. It doesn’t start until the Wednesday (25th) and goes up until the end of May (31st). Now, this is a monthly read-a-thon (similar to #AYearAThon) which has 12 accompanying challenges. The aim is simple, to complete 1 challenge a month and have them all complete by the end of the year- but this is the first time I have participated this year which means I need to complete 5 challenges to get back on track. So lets have a little look at the challenges and see which ones I should attempt for this week:

  1. Read 1200 pages
  2. Read a book with your name on the cover
  3. Read a book set in a place you want to go
  4. Spell your name with books
  5. Listen to an audiobook
  6. Read a book with someone else
  7. Read a book someone else thinks you will love
  8. Read a book where the main character has a job you would love
  9. Read a book where the main character has a job you could see yourself doing
  10. Read a book about something you are passionate about
  11. Read a book with your favourite colour on the cover
  12. Read a book from your favourite author

So, you can see that these aren’t all simple little challenges but take a little thought and a whole lot of planning. Which challenges will I be doing and how do I plan on completing them?

Read 1200 pages

So, this is an obvious place for me to start; I am dedicating quite a bit of time next week to reading so I should hopefully be able to complete this challenge easily. With the average length books around 400 pages, 3-4 books next week should complete this challenge with extra pages to spare!

Although I only need to read 3-4 books to meet this aim, I have selected a large number of books to make a choice between! Hopefully I wont reach the same problem as Bout of Books 16.0 and have too much choice!

Read a book with your name on the cover

So, like I mentioned on the May read-a-thon breakdown, I have two possible choices for this read-a-thon challenge.

heir of nightThe first choice is one that I had on my TBR for Bout of Books 16.0 and that is The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe, the first book in a trilogy where there is a Princess being trained to rule her kingdom and discovers her own magic… sounds pretty amazing to me! This book is 435 pages when you don’t consider the glossary or discussion with the author.

dark days clubThe second choice is The Dark Days Club: A Lady Helen Novel by Alison Goodman, this is a historical paranormal fantasy where Lady Helen Wrexhall enters the court to find a husband but enters a new and dangerous world of demonic creatures. At 486 pages, this is one of the larger reads on my TBR and may overlook this one for Heir of Night for this challenge. However, it does sound like an interesting read, especially as I don’t read much historical fiction.

Read a book about something you are passionate about

Now, I am going to take an abstract interpretation about this challenge, and that’s because I accidentally bumped the book I had considered for this challenge Rarity from the Hollow by Robert Eggleton into last weeks TBR (as it is based heavily on psychology and that is a great passion of mine).

So instead, I have considered something I am passionate about in literature and one thing came to mind; fairy tale retellings. I love them, and I have been reading more and more of them recently.

scarlet.pngThe retelling I plan on tackling this week is the next book in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, Scarlet, a little red riding hood retelling. As I plan on completing Cress as part of the Tome Topple Read-a-thon, I really do need to focus and get this one read this week. At 452 pages, I am hoping to get it completed in time.

A book set in a place you want to go

doon

Well, its time to reveal a little bit about my plans for the future. I am hoping that once I have earned myself a bit of money, I can move to Scotland and live the rest of my life as a writer looking out over one of the many Lochs. So to meet this challenge I have decided to read a book I was introduced to through Sasha’s youtube channel ‘abookutopia‘ and her love for all things Scottish. And that is Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon, the first in the Doon series.

Doon is the story of time travel and family secrets, at 411 pages long I am hoping for a fast, fun and energetic read. I also happen to have a really floppy paperback of the book, which I almost always read faster than any other format! Bonus points!

Read a book by your favourite author

a court of thorns and rosesSo, I have gone for A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas, Sarah is one of my favourite authors and I know that I am going to love this book. This is a beauty and the beast retelling with fae and all of the Sarah J Maas awesomeness that she manages to pack into every one of her books. I desperately need to read this as I plan on completing A Court of Mist and Fury during the Tome Topple Read-a-thon. At 416 pages it may not seem a long novel, but there is tiny writing which means longer to read each page. Either way, I have heard that it is a great, past paced read that I will fly through in one sitting.

Other potential books for this week…

Guys, I know what I have already set is ambitious, however I like choice so I have added three other books onto the list (and tried to match them up to challenges) so I have a little more choice.

Firstly The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski, another courtly novel about slaves, lies, and rumours. This is a series that has gotten a lot of acclaim on YouTube and everyone I know who has read it- highly recommends it. If I don’t get around to this book this week, it will be on my TBR for June for certain! This also  covers the challenge of ‘reading a book with your favourite colour on the front cover’, as the books hold a woman wearing a beautiful purple-y dress, its representing one of my favourite colours.

Next is Sabriel by Garth Nix, the start of another high fantasy series that comes highly recommended. About a daughter’s quest to save her father, this book is constantly recommended to me. Therefore it completes the challenge ‘read a book someone else thinks you will love’. At 367 pages, it is also the shortest book on this weeks TBR.

The final book on the additional books is the final book in the House of Night Series by P.C. and Kristin Cast, Redeemed. Now, my love for this series seriously waned for several of the central books however has grown over the last two books I have read. I am looking forward to the finale of the series, and with the beautiful turquoise-blue that is splattered across the cover it could also cover the challenge for ‘read a book with your favourite colour on the cover’.


Another read-a-thon, another crazy TBR pile… will I ever learn?

Nope.

Don’t be silly. Why would I want to learn? ha.

So tell me my friends, what are you planning on reading this week? Are you participating in the duodecathon? If so, what challenges are you attempting this month? Let me know inn the comments below!

Here’s hoping I can get at least five of these books read this week!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

