Reading

TBR Pile: 16-22nd May 2016

Hey guys,

So as you know, I wont be formally participating in the Mental Health Awareness Read-a-thon this week, I will however be setting myself a few books to choose from this week for my reading.

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

a wicked thingAh, you may recognise this from last weeks ridiculous TBR mountain. I didn’t get around to completing this during the read-a-thon and I would love to read it this week. I don’t know whether it contains any elements of Mental Health, however the story does grab me and I have been looking forward to reading it since I first purchased it. I also have the sequel The Kingdom of Ash if I want to carry on reading the series this week.

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Susan Collins

hunger games.pngFirstly I want to explain how I haven’t formally read these yet. When I first bought them I was scared to read them in case I was accused of only reading them because it was ‘cool’ so I bought it with the intention of finally reading it. Well, then the movies started coming out and I spoiled myself by watching and becoming quite addicted to the movies and I didn’t want the movies spoiled by reading the books and thinking they are better. I had also heard that the writing wasn’t the most compelling, however they are good reads. I do know that the books do touch upon PTSD which lets me classify them for this weeks theme, I believe it is only really the last two that Katniss has PTSD but I believe that her mother has it during the first book. I don’t know whether I will be able to read all three this week (I will be spending a lot of time on trains this week- so you never know) but I would like to at least complete the first two.

The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings

untitled (74)Guys, how have I not finished this book already? I am currently on page 530 of 913 and frankly I would like to get to the 750 page mark by the end of the week. This is definitely not one that I will be taking on the trains with me, but I will attempt to read a bit of it as often as I can.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

young elitesOkay, well here’s the deal. I need books for the ridiculous amount of train journeys I have, even though I will be nervous out of my mind for them, each one is roughly an hour. I also placed The Young Elites on my most intimidating books tag, and I have (a little less now) secretly challenged myself to read as many of them as possible by the end of the year. I also have the new sequel The Rose Society that I will be delving into if I can this week.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinderSo, I have attempted to read this Cinderella retelling once before, but like you have probably heard a million times from me already, I was trying to claw out of a reading slump and I couldn’t even get 100 pages in. Well, I am not in a reading slump now and would love to finally make head-way on this series. There is an ulterior motive for this read, in June there is a 2 weeks read-a-thon for big books (500 page+) and I would really love to read Winter as part of that week. It also fits really well around my holiday which means lots of travel time for sinking into one really big read- and well, less books to carry!


So, I am still going with the Series theme for the month, with almost every read being to move through a series on my TBR shelves; some pertain better to the mental health theme than others but I wanted to give myself a good choice of books. One thing I learnt from my selection for #boutofbooks 16.0 is that when I give myself too much choice, I struggle to decide.

So what are you planning on reading this week? Let me know in the comments below.

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

 

Leave a Reply

