Reading

#boutofbook 16.0 wrap up

Hey guys,

So we finally made it to the end of another week and another read-a-thon. As you have probably guessed, this week hasn’t been the best for me, there have been several emotional rollercoaster rides this week and that has seriously interfered with my reading- ugh life. However I have managed to make a bit of progress on my TBR pile and here’s what I read.

So, I managed to read two complete books this week, finish a previously started book, and make progress on another. I also started but could not complete two other books before the end of the read-a-thon.

Completely read!

So throughout the week I completely read two books, A Touch of Power by Maria V Snyder, the first in The Avry of Kazan Trilogy and The Selection by Kiera Cass, the first in The Selection Series. Both of these books were excellent reads, fast paced and perfect for read-a-thons. However, I would have liked more action in the selection, I definitely enjoyed what happened and do plan on picking up the rest of the series as soon as I can.

I had planned on completing the entire Avry of Kazan trilogy this week, however I left it much too late to reasonably begin the series with the hope of completing it. I do plan on continuing on with the series and I am saddened that I couldn’t meet my aim for the week.

Previously started books!

revealedI finished Revealed by P.C. and Kristin Cast after beginning it last week, I think this is seriously an improvement on the last few books; picking up the pace for the final book in the series. I wished they had shortened the series and kept the pace going throughout, it would have made for a much more enjoyable read and would have made this series one of my favourites. As it stands, I couldn’t put this series in my top ten, or perhaps even top twenty, with only the first few and last few even holding it that high.

Book Progress!

So, one of my aims for this week was to make at least 100 page progress on The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings, I am happy  to report that I did actually manage to complete this challenge. I began the week on page 416, and ended on page 530 which is 114 pages of progress. I would have liked to have made it to page 600, however I am happy that I am still on track to finish by the end of the month. Again, this book is heavy with details that I don’t think add anything to the storyline, being an epic fantasy stand-alone, there is a lot to happen (world building, character arcs, intricate details associated with epic fantasies) in one book and although I am well over the half-way point now, I feel that the plot really hasn’t developed to that point. I have spoken to others that have completed thisbook, and they do inform me that the real action is in the last 200 pages (of a 900 page+ book!) which really surprised me, I don’t understand how there can be 700 pages of build-up and only 200 pages of action, the ratio seems skewed.

untitled (74)With those points being said, I am enjoying the characters. There has definitely been some character development, thankfully no insta-love in sight but there is definitely love in the making. I do have a minor issue with how these concepts are addressed in the book, constantly being referred to as ‘girl-people, boy-people’ differences seems immature for the characters. I don’t think the style of conversation and opinion of these matches in with the rest of the context and style. Almost as if the writers were afraid to broach the topic of sexual attraction, even though it is a topic well-precedent in epic fantasy literature.

Books started this week:

I started two books this week, firstly I started the second instalment of the Avry of Kazan trilogy, A Scent of Magic, and although I am only 55 pages into it, it shall remain next to my bed and read as my evening reading material over the weeks to come.

rarity from the hollowThe second book I started this week was Rarity from the Hollow by Robert Eggleton, the only ebook I placed on my TBR. I did have a few technical problems when I first attempted to read this book and that is the only reason I haven’t completed it yet. It is an extremely fast paced and entertaining read, touching on some serious problems in a unique manner. This is a Sci-Fi, a genre I don’t tend to levitate towards, however, the psychological elements of the storyline and characters drew me in and I highly recommend this to anyone interest in mental health and/or androids. Although I only had limited time to read this before writing this wrap-up, I managed to get 140 pages in. I have found that I read slower in ebook, however this will definitely be completed over the next day or two and I have a collection of notes that I cannot wait to share with you in my review.

My thoughts on the week:

I think I did mediocre this week, not even completing half of the books I had set aside, even though after Tuesday there wasn’t as many commitments as previous weeks. I don’t know whether setting so many books on my TBR slowed my reading, constantly wondering what I should read next.

I also felt emotionally drained this week, with many elements of ‘sorting my life out’ taking priority over reading, even though my mind was constantly flicking back to the pile of books waiting on my desk. I have definitely reconsidered the length of my TBR pile for the next few weeks, especially as my life is definitely altering.

So, my friends, how did you do this week? What was your favourite read of the week (mine was A Touch of Power by Maria V Snyder)?

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

 

Leave a Reply

