Reading

#boutofbooks Day 3!

Hey guys,

So I have officially completed uni, which means for the rest of the week I have reading and only a few periods when I cannot read. So day 3 marked the first full reading day and I am quite happy with my progress today.

I did manage to complete The Selection by Kiera Cass before I fell asleep last night, I had already posted my daily wrap-up but really this bit should have gone in there. I did really like the book, it was fast but at the same time it didn’t feel fast. I definitely felt the resemblance to The Hunger Games by Susan Collins, not that there are contestants fighting to the death, they are fighting for the Prince (or in some cases, the crown) and everything is definitely less violent. Well- there are a few exceptions to that statement but you can discover those laughing out loud moments yourself (and yes I really did laugh out loud when I read this book!).

the selection

I do plan on continuing with the series, I am on a book buying ban currently (and I am trying really hard to stick with it this time! Honest!) so I will be creating a to buy file of all the books I need to pick up (trying to keep this to new releases and sequels) for when I get some ‘extra’ money to spend on books. I have made a few predictions about what will happen across the next books, I’m keeping those locked away and if I am right I will let you know!

So after staying up quite late (3:30 am) to finish the selection, I was half expecting not to be able to rise this morning; in fact I was up and reading before 8am. I put a poll up when I was nearing the end of The Selection to find which book I should read next, however when I was deciding what to read this morning it stood at a cross-road (50% each!) between Redeemed by P.C. and Kristin Cast and Eon: The Rise of the Dragoneye by Alison Goodman.

I decided that I really should try and make some progress on The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings, I started the day on page 416 and read to page 516 (keeping with my aim of reading 100 pages at a time). Although this is a standalone fantasy, I feel like it is going slowly, and my progress is definitely representative of that. But I am determined that this will be finished by the end of the month- someone please hold me to that! If you don’t see it on the wrap up for the month under complete, someone please shout at me in the comments!

untitled (74)

So, when I looked at the poll I realised something, it would be up until way passed midnight (I forgot to change it from the 24 hour poll- oops), so I was on my own deciding which book to read after reading my set quota of Althalus. So I used a random number generator to decide because I had no preference at this point, and the result was… A Touch of Power by Maria V Snyder.

I managed to complete 180 pages of A Touch of Power before going to sleep, I did spend a lot of time applying for jobs rather than reading; so I am happy with the small amount of progress that I did make. However, I have come to the conclusion that my reading time is going to be dramatically lower than first intended, I am fighting for my reading days over the weekend, but I am slowly filling my time with appointments that I just cant get out of. So, although I am sticking to the same TBR, the amount I intend to read will be lowered, aiming for completing a book a day for the rest of the week.

touch of power

So, I this is rather late (being almost the end of Day 4 already!) but how are you doing so far? I will be posting at Day 4 update in the morning, as well as a few other posts I have been working on over the last few weeks. Exciting things are happening over the next few weeks (mainly job wise) so I will be letting you know about those as and when they develop!

Until later my friends,

Helen X

Leave a Reply

