Reading

#boutofbooks 16.0 Day 1!

Hey guys,

So I didn’t know whether I wanted to carry on doing daily reading wrap-ups for this read-a-thon, but I had a really emotionally draining day and I needed a little blog time before heading to my exam today- so I though why not?

My Day…

Although it is now Tuesday morning, looking back at Monday I see a whole lot of productivity mixed in with a tonne of crappy emotions. Well, like I discussed last week; I spent majority of the day collecting research as part of a team- this went extremely well and I loved every moment of it. So the day started off really well, I came home and did a tonne of revision; mock papers, model answers, flash cards… I was on my game.

Then I received an email with results that broke me for a while, I spent some time ‘thinking’ about what they mean and I realised after quite a while that one bad result will not stop me from going further with me educational career path. Of course there were other reasons behind my poor grade, but I knew it would be my worst- I wrote it immediately after the death of my grandmother, which basically meant I handed in a really bad first draft and didn’t care. My conclusion was a sentence because by then I was writing merely to get to the word count. One of my worst student moments. But, expected none the less.

My reading…

Okay, well that takes us to roughly half ten on the evening. We all know me by now, the day isn’t over until I fall asleep. I wasn’t in the mood for sleep. So I picked up Revealed by P.C. and Kristin Cast (at roughly page 150) and read straight through to the end (the book is 302 pages total). These books are picking up again- thankfully! I am actually quite excited to see how everything wraps-up in the final instalment, so it shall most likely make its way into my TBR at the expense of another book.

bout of books 16 tbr.jpg

So I posted this to Twitter asking for help deciding which book to pick up next, so thanks to Jenn for responding! I will be picking up The Selection by Kiera Cass next, and working on Rarity from the Hollow by Robert Eggleton while I am on my computer.

TBR Progress List!

I have decided to add another ‘section’ to my daily read-a-thon wrap-ups! The TBR progress list! Here I am going to post my TBR list, updating how I am doing and also asking for you to help pick the next book I pick up!

I am hoping this will at let me visualise how much I have left, where I am making progress and the books that are taking me the longest to read.

  • Revealed // P.C. and Kristin Cast
  • The Redemption of Althalus // David and Leigh Eddings (c. 416 of 913)
  • The Heir of Night // Helen Lowe
  • Storm Glass // Maria V Snyder
  • Angelfall // Susan Ee
  • Eon // Alison Goodman
  • Mist // Kathryn James
  • The Selection // Kiera Cass (Aim: To complete today)
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses // Sarah J Maas
  • A Touch of Power // Maria V Snyder
  • A scent of Magic // Maria V Snyder
  • A Taste of Darkness // Maria V Snyder
  • The Young Elites // Marie Lu
  • A Wicked Thing // Rhiannon Thomas

So, which do you think I should pick up after The Selection? Are any of these one of your favourites? Let me know in the comments below!

For now, I will return to revision and then the exam, but then I can read to my hearts content!

Helen x

 

Leave a Reply

