Reading

Bout of Books 16.0 TBR

Hey guys,

So it is bout of books 16.0 and I am prepared! I have an exam at the beginning of the read-a-thon but then I am finished at uni and plan on spending the rest of the week reading all of the books. That being said, this is an ambitious TBR, I wont pretend that it isn’t, I most likely wont get to all of these but I will be making a huge dent in my TBR list if I do!

Firstly books I am currently reading…

So, I know that there is back to back read-a-thons this month, which inevitably leads to cross overs in books because I am not good at timing books to be finished at the end of a read-a-thon without there being time for me to pick up another.

Although I don’t intend on completing this during the read-a-thon, The Redemption of Athalus by David and Leigh Eddings, is definitely one that I need to make progress on. I am currently on page 416 and intend on passing the 500 page mark, perhaps even passing the 600 page mark if I can.

The second book is Revealed by P.C. and Kristin Cast, the eleventh book in the House of Night Series. The final book is meant to be delivered during this read-a-thon and may get added to the list but I cannot guarantee that there will be time. I cannot say where I will be starting this book from specifically for the read-a-thon as there is still time left in the #AYearAThon that I can make progress. If I do manage to complete this (there would have to be some serious magic involved if I do) then I will let you know throughout the week.

Ebooks…

rarity from the hollowI only have one Ebook on my list for this week and that is Rarity from the Hollow by Robert Eggleton, this is a book I have received for an honest review and cannot wait to get into it! Although this is already published as an Ebook, a second edition with some alterations will be available soon but I will be discussing this more in the wrap-up and review!

All of the other glorious books!

I have set myself an aim of completing an entire series within this read-a-thon, so I will be attempting to complete the Avry of Kazan Trilogy by Maria V Snyder. I am on a Maria Snyder binge at the moment and I am loving her books, all the worlds she is creating are awesome and I think this will be a really easy trilogy to fly through.

Firstly there is A Touch of Power, then A Scent of Magic, and finally A Taste of Darkness; they all follow the adventure of Avry, a healer in a world where magic is forbidden. They are all around the 400 page mark, with A Taste of Darkness being the longest at 458 pages, however I do fly through Maria V Snyder’s books and I am hoping the same applies to this trilogy.

touch of power.png

storm glassHowever, these are not the only Maria V Snyder books I plan on tackling for this read-a-thon, I do plan on making some more progress on the Chronicles of Ixia Series. I had planned on attempting to read Storm Glass as part of the #AYearAThon, however due to circumstances I didn’t reach it. However I do plan on reading it during this read-a-thon as I am aiming to complete the eight currently released books in the series by the end of May.

eonThe next book I plan on getting to this month is Eon: The Rise of the Dragoneye by Alison Goodman, this I believe is an apprentice story that involves dragons (obviously) and someone refered to as the ‘Rat Dragon’. This has been on my shelves for quite a while, and I hope I like it because if so I plan on picking up its sequel Eona.

the selectionNext is a book that many are shocked that I still haven’t started and that is The Selection by Kiera Cass, honestly, the covers put me off this book so much. Many think that they are beautiful but they honestly don’t look like a book I would enjoy. With the final book in the series being just released, I think it is about time that I got cracking with this series. It is pretty much a one-sit length read, at only 326 pages, so hopefully I can fly through this and enjoy it enough to buy the rest in the series.

Heir of Night by Helen Lowe is the next book on my TBR pile, this is the start of the Wall of Night Trilogy and looks like an epic fantasy. At 435 pages, it is definitely one of the longer reads for the read-a-thon but I am hopeful that I can complete it! With the tag-line ‘A Dark Enemy. An Ancient War. A New Champion’ what isn’t to love about this new series?

Now the next book I have included merely for the fact that I ordered the sequel even though I have just placed this book on my Most Intimidating Reads list, and this is The Young Elites by Marie Lu. When the main character Adelina Amourteru survives a blood fever, she is cast aside with the remaining ‘abominations’ only to discover they have some kind of power, I presume. Sounds pretty good to me.

mistThe next is a teen read that I am doing for my neice, she is sensitive to several trigger warnings but loves reading fantasy. With a lot of books failing to note whether they contain triggers I do pre-read many books that I think could contain triggers; I will not go into the triggers. All I know about this book is that it contains wolves and that is Mist by Kathryn James, and I am getting a paranormal vibe from the book. I am considering attempting this across the Monday and Tuesday, it is a small book (310 pages) with large font and large margins, it looks like good break reading (if that makes any sense) and it would be nice to try and accomplish something in the form of reading across the first two days of the read-a-thon.

Next I have a book that I have attempted before, and that is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas. I love all of Sarah’s other works, but I was sinking into a slump when I last attempted to read this and didn’t get more than 10 pages in. I have A Court of Mist and Fury arriving in a few days so I really should at least read this one first. I believe that this is another fairy-tale retelling, beauty and the beast comes to mind.

a court of thorns and roses

Impossible extras…

Yes I am crazy. No, you wont change my mind. I am adding to the list.

So there are two extra books that I plan on tackling if i have time to do so- unlikely I know!

The first is Angelfall by Susan Ee, this sort of sounds like a paranormal apocalypse sort of scenario, where angels have returned to earth and all hell has broken loose… bad pun. I do have the complete trilogy but it would be pretty stupid to try and read them all with this lot!

Next I have a book that I have only just hauled, even though I put myself on a ban- oops. And that is A Wickid Thing by Rhiannon Thomas, a sleeping beauty retelling which I have heard nothing but great things about! This is another relatively short read, so I may be switching a longer read out for this during the week if I feel I need it.


Guys, I think I have lost my mind with all these books. If I get to half of them I will be extremely happy with this read-a-thon. I am currently behind schedule with my reading aim for this month (22 books read, and I currently have 4/5 complete, depending on the very end of #AYearAThon) so I will be pushing myself to reach that goal.

So what do you plan on reading for Bout of Books 16.0? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

