Reading

May Read-a-thons!

Hey guys,

So once again May will be packed to the brim with read-a-thons, and that means you will be hit with so many TBR’s this month. So to let you know which read-a-thons I plan on participating in and if I have any ideas what I will be reading for them now… don’t worry I will be posting a formal TBR post and wrap up posts for each of these- just wanted to give you a bit more notice if you wanted to join in and get TBR posts ready!

May readathon breakdown proper.png

So I created a little calendar above- unfortunately it wont let me edit it so you get to see all the wonderful things I had open today, mainly uni work so nothing really that interested, that is unless you are interested in crimes in the virtual world? Anyway, back on track, you can see there are four read-a-thons that I plan on participating in this month, I may add more if I find them.

May 2nd-8th #AYearAThon (Series edition)

So the first read-a-thon I plan on completing for May is the next instalment of the #AYearAThon, for this leg of the read-a-thon the focus is on completing or catching up on a series. Now there are a tonne of ways you can approach this, like:

  • Complete a series from beginning to end
  • Read the next book in the series’ you are working on
  • Start a series, reading more than one book

The aim is to work your way through those pesky next in a series that we are so lax about reading. So whichever route you take (I will be working on making progress across several series this time), focus on getting through the series that are filling our shelves. So what do I plan on tackling for this week?

Well, it is the week all my written assignments are due so I will be keeping reading to a lower level (as well as the week before my final exam-eek!), however I do have four books on my TBR at the moment:

  • Where She Went by Gayle Forman, the sequel to If I stay, which I read last year. This is a contemporary which I don’t usually read, however I was really moved by the first one and would love to finally get around to reading the second- guys I don’t know what is happening with all these romance-y types books recently?
  • Half Lost by Sally Green, the final in the Half Bad trilogy, I have Half Wild currently on my TBR pile to read before the read-a-thon. If I do however, fail to read Half Wild, I have no problem attempting to complete this trilogy during this read-a-thon
  • Fire Study by Maria V Snyder, the third book of the ‘Chronicles of Ixia’ series. I read the first two in April and really would love to continue through this series as I am loving every moment of it. I regret putting this series off for so long. If I have time after finishing the rest of the books on the TBR for this read-a-thon, I plan on attempting to continue with the series.
  • Hidden by P.C. and Kristin Cast, the tenth book in the House of Night Series. Although I really didn’t enjoy the last book as much, I am pushing myself to complete the series because then I can take them off my shelves with no hard feelings. I loved the first six books in the series, but now it feels like they have little plot development per book and I am struggling. There are twelve books in the series, I already have books 10 and 11 on my shelf and I will probably pick the 12th up just to complete the series- stupid excuse but I have been working on this series for almost 7 years and really just want it over with now. Again, I may push on with the series, if I can, to really attempt to get the done- no promises.

May 9th-15th Bout of Books 16.0

Agh, the familiar sound of Bout of Books approaching once more. Of course I am participating this year- stupid question really. I love this read-a-thon and although I don’t have a set TBR at the moment, I have a few books I plan on attempting.

It worth a reminder, my final exam on the 10th but after that I have officially finished my Master’s degree and can read to my hearts content until I hear back about a few upcoming career/life changes.

  • The Selection by Keira Cass, the first in the selection series, a series well-liked in the booktube community and I have finally decided to attempt it. I don’t really understand the genre, a contemporary fiction possibly. If you know, let me know below (I like to keep track about my different genres).
  • Mist by Kathryn James, a book I picked up from the library sales. I don’t really know much, or have heard much about this book, it sounds like a paranormal romance possibly- possibly. I know it is a teen read, which hopefully means I will fly through it for the read-a-thon.
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee, a paranormal fantasy involving the return of angels… this has been on my shelf for a long time, along with the rest of the trilogy. I like to try and include a mixture of old and new books on my TBR’s, mainly because otherwise I would never get to read the older books because I constantly want to read what I just bought!
  • Flawed by Cecelia Ahern, all I know is that this is a young adult dystopian where everyone in the world is essentially ‘perfect’ and the main character isn’t- I believe? I know that it is a new release of the year and the young adult debut of the author. Even though I don’t know much, I cannot wait to sink into this one!
  • Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie, a fantasy series (well the first in the series, anyway) and it sounds amazing. Being about a young lady who can feel what those around her feel, I am intrigued by how Purdie is going to approach such a gift.

May 16th-22nd Mental Health Awareness Read-a-thon

This read-a-thon was created by Bookish Realm on YouTube, in recognition for the America Mental Health Awareness week. Mental health awareness plays a vital role in both my personal life and my professional life, I will be fully supporting this read-a-thon, however I must do some much needed research before finding a full list of books for the TBR, so if you have any recommendations about books that have mental health as a key theme let me know!

At the moment, the only book on my TBR for this read-a-thon is Forgive me Leonard Peocock by Matthew Quick. There will be challenges involved in this read-a-thon, and I will be letting you know more once they have been announced!

May 25th-31st Duodecathon

This is a monthly read-a-thon that I have only just heard about and therefore am behind on the challenges, of which you are meant to aim to complete one during each event. However, I am now playing catch-up and plan on tackling a few during this leg. Lets look at the challenges:

  1. Read 1200 pages
  2. Read a book with your name on the cover
  3. Read a book set in a place you want to go
  4. Spell your name with books
  5. Listen to an audiobook
  6. Read a book with someone else
  7. Read a book someone else thinks you will love
  8. Read a book where the main character has a job you would love
  9. Read a book where the main character has a job you could see yourself doing
  10. Read a book about something you are passionate about
  11. Read a book with your favourite colour on the cover
  12. Read a book from your favourite author

As I am behind, by three events, I will be attempting four of the challenges for this read-a-thon. Firstly, I do plan on reading more than 1200 pages during the week, my average page count during read-a-thons is approximately 2000 so I am hopeful that I can get to 1200 easily. (Challenge #1)

The first two books I have set on my TBR both cover the ‘read a book with your name on the cover’ challenge, and they are The Dark Days Club: A lady Helen Novel by Alison Goodman and the Heir of Night by Helen Lowe. (Challenge #2)

The next book on my TBR for this read-a-thon is Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon, this will complete the challenge ‘read a book set in a place you want to go’. This book is set in Scotland, a place I wish to live one day, and I am very disheartened to not have read this already. (Challenge #3)

Although I have to confirm this with my friend who I want to buddy read this with, I am hoping Touch of Power by Maria V Snyder will fulfil the ‘read a book with someone else’ challenge. I recently accidentally received two copies of the entire series so I gifted her a set and I am hoping she will buddy read this one with me. Please. (Challenge #4)

I have four potential challenge books above, however to give myself a little le-way, I want to attempt another challenge. To ‘read a book with your favourite colour on the cover’ and that is a purple (for now at least, it changes too much to have an actual all-out favourite). To meet this aim, I have a book that I have the complete trilogy of, and have had for a while (well, except before the last one was released that is), The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.


Well, this has definitely turned into more of a TBR post, however these are likely to alter slightly over the weeks. For now, I am treating these as my TBR pile for May, especially since there is only three days that have no read-a-thons marked in already. At the moment, the list stands at 15 book, of which I know I will add to as I haven’t decided on my complete TBR for the Mental Health Awareness read-a-thon.

Are you going to participate in any of the read-a-thons this month? Are you as excited as I am? I hope so, let me know in the comments below.

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

 

One thought on “May Read-a-thons!

Leave a Reply

