Reading

Author-a-thon Wrap Up

Hey guys,

So we have come to the end of yet another read-a-thon, and I believe that this is my last read-a-thon for the month of April and I intend on using the rest of the month to really push my read pile to a nice round number (or just get through as many as I can!). I found it harder to get into reading this week, mainly because I started with a slow paced book and struggled to reach the speeds I usually read at during the read-a-thons.

So lets look at this day by day…

Day 1:

So I started with the 8th book in the House of Night Series (Destined by P.C. and Kristin Cast) to meet the challenge of reading a book by more than one author. I really struggled with this starting point, reading only 50 pages for day one, which mainly consisted of the characters moaning about having to go back to school. Very little happens other than recapping storylines and reintroducing the same characters as before.

A disappointing start to the read-a-thon.

Day 2:

So day two was definitely more successful than day one, I first tried to push myself through more of Destined however, under evaluation I realised that this was the reason I hadn’t felt like reading. So after 15 more pages I put it down.

Although I contemplated binge watching Once Upon a Time on Netflix, I decided to start on another challenge, read a book by a favourite author. Picking up The Assassin’s Blade I decided to read one short story at a time, as it is the biggest book on my TBR pile for this read-a-thon, I felt like splitting it into five 80-100 page stories was a good idea. So after completing the first short story The Assassin and The Pirate Lord by Sarah J Maas, I was pumped to read again and although it was getting later in the evening I decided I must try and continue.

I went on to pick up ‘The Shadow Queen’ C.J. Redwine, a snow white retelling that has magic, war and dragons. It is extremely fast paced and although I am unsure of what time I stopped reading (it could have been after midnight, it could have been before… I was way too tired to clock the time) I managed to accomplish another 200 pages for the day.

So, although some of the progress was small, I did make progress on three books for three of the challenges today which made me really happy.

Day 3:

Day three was a Wednesday, Wednesdays consist of me getting to uni at an unnerving hour and staying there with back to back classes until 5/6 PM. Generally, there is no time to get any reading done during the bulk of the day, however I did manage to force myself to wake up an hour early and read the second short story from The Assassin’s Blade, The Assassin and the Healer. Now, although these short stories are the previous work of the world’s best assassin, I have completed the first two and there has been hardly any assassin work. Death yes, but they have all either been in self-defence or anger, or to teach someone how to defend themselves. Perhaps they should be renamed to ‘The stroppy girl and the…’ instead?

Perhaps it was the early morning that clouded my judgement of Celaena, but she didn’t seem herself. I don’t know, but this collection is definitely heading somewhere and I am too curious not to find out.

When I returned from uni, I decided to try and complete The Shadow Queen, it wasn’t hard, it was fast paced and heart wrenching in parts that I couldn’t put it down and I had finished the last 200 pages with ease.

So it wasn’t too late and I had three choices really, continue reading Destined, pick up a new book, watch TV… I decided to pick up a new book as it felt like the most productive use of my time. So I went with the sequel to Poison Study by Maria V Snyder, Magic Study. Guys, it has a magic school, only a tiny bit of romance, and a phenomenal female lead. I blew through the first 119 pages and decided that I really needed to sleep.

Day 4:

The first thing I did when I woke on Thursday was to complete Magic Study, and although it was over 400 pages, the last of the book flew at an unbelievable pace and soon I was putting it down. After that, well life happened and I was running errands almost all day.

However, once the sun had settled and I was crawling into bed, I was tired but I couldn’t not read before bed. So I decided to pick up Destined and see if I could push through another 50 pages, I managed it and a little more before giving into sleep. I didn’t love it, but a little more than whining happened with the introduction of new characters and new points of view.

Day 5:

So the most of the day was either spent at the doctors or out with friends recovering from the doctors, because blood samples hurt when they cant find a vein. However, once I settled in for the night and I managed to sneak away from my nieces and nephews, I was determined to finish Destined. It didn’t happen guys, but I got pretty close at page 235 out of 325.

Day 6:

I think this was the single most successful day of the week frankly, that and it was the start of the Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon! I completed four books in one day, the most I have ever completed and I couldn’t be prouder!

I started the day by completing the last of Destined by P.C. and Kristin Cast, although I really struggled at the beginning of the book, the end was relatively good. I still cant give the book higher than a 2.5 stars, mainly because it felt whiney to the end and other than one significant death (I’ll leave you guessing at that one!) nothing really happened. I will be completing the series, mainly because it is already on my shelf and there are only 2 books and 3 novellas (that I know of) and I can hopefully finish those in May.

Next I went on the complete The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas, although there were less assassinations than I originally suspected, there were still plenty of plot twists and turns. Although there were five separate novellas making up this book, they were five parts of one story and I loved how they intertwined around each other. Of course, each story would make sense alone, just as you can continue reading the throne of glass series without reading the novellas, but they do add something special to the way you see the young assassin.

Well, I couldn’t stop reading could I, so I went on and read the entirety of Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, a high fantasy that I had previously DNF’d. I first attempted it back when I was in a terrible slump and I didn’t get 50 pages in. This time though, this time I was flying through the pages and couldn’t believe how much I loved it. A five star read! I cannot wait to continue with the series and write the review!

I looked at the time once I had finished and decided that perhaps I had time to squeeze in a little more reading- after making a few review notes for some of the books so far that is. I have sooooo many reviews in stall for you. I hope you like them because this list is always growing and days like this make it swell. I decided to break from my TBR and read Stealing Phoenix the second book in the Benedicts series, and guys this series just gets better! No longer are the thoughts of a Twilight retelling, but this is a series to be read! I have laughed and cried and laughed more, I feel like that’s the only way I can sum up this series!

Day 7:

And so we get to today, alas not as productive as day 6 but still today held its own and let me complete a further two books. Firstly, I read the final book on my original TBR, Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. I’m not sure what genre this book technically fits into, but it felt like magical realism… with quite a bit more magical than I first believed. It was amazingly fast paced and I completed it before the end of the Dewey’s read-a-thon which was an added bonus.

Although I probably should have been satisfied with reading all of the books on my TBR for the week, as well as one extra already, I didn’t want to stop reading. So I decided to continue with the Benedict’s Series and read Seeking Crystal. Guys, let me tell you, if you want a realistic female who is not petite, who doesn’t have the self-confidence of a Goddess and goes through some pretty amazing character developments. You need to read this. Although this is a series, and I am deeply loving it, I think they are more of companion novels rather than one large plot (okay, there were a few developing plot points- but the book is not dependent on the book before), I will continue reading as I love this series and will consider whether this holds true for the remaining books. Or whether Joss has a surprise in store for us readers!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Lets look at some stats shall we… my favourite part of successful read-a-thons!

Books Read: 8

Challenges: All 6 completed

Book by a favourite author: The Assassin’s blade by Sarah J Maas
Book by a debut author: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
Book by a new to you author: The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine
Give an author a second chance: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Read a book by more than one author: Destined by P.C. and Kristin Cast
Read a book by an author from a different continent: Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder

Additional reads:
Stealing Phoenix by Joss Stirling
Seeking Crystal by Joss Stirling

Pages Read: 2806


Guys, I must admit that I am mighty proud of that page count, at the beginning of the week I felt that I wasn’t going to be able to complete half of my TBR, let alone an additional 2 books! Of course having another read-a-thon within the read-a-thon helped so much!

So tell me, how did you do this week? Did you take the challenge or single author route? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

