General

Dewey’s 24 Hour #ReadAThon Wrap up!

Hey guys,

Well it has been a rather… interesting 24 hours, and guys, I am already planning out for the next one! So, I completed a ridiculous number of books within the 24 hours, much more than I thought possible.

I began dead on 1 o’clock after completing Destined by P.C. and Kristin Cast, the last 100 pages of which  I put on my TBR just in case I couldn’t finish before the start. However I did, so I will discuss this more in my Author-a-thon wrap up tomorrow. So lets talk about the books I did read for the 24 hour read-a-thon.

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas

the assassins bladeI had already completed the first two short stories within the novella collection, putting my on page 179 when the read-a-thon officially began. I used the short stories to break up the bigger novels I was attempting to read. I flew through these short stories and they showed me a side to Caelena that I never understood from the current instalments of Throne of Glass Series and I must admit that she really pulled on some heart strings. I did expect more action, but who doesn’t when you’re dealing with the best assassin in the land? I settled for a strong 4 stars.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

falling kingdomsThis was also part of my author-a-thon tbr pile, giving this book a second chance was the best reading decision I have made in a while. It was epic, following several view points showing how war effects so many. I loved it and plan on continuing on the falling kingdoms series in the next months. I completed this within a few hours, and found myself wanting more before the end and even though I had been reading for almost the entirety of the first eight hours of the read-a-thon, I couldn’t not read for the rest of the night.

Stealing Phoenix by Joss Stirling

stealing pheonixBefore I settled in for bed I decided to attempt to complete a short paranormal romance sequel that I hadn’t considered for my week’s TBR but was an addition that I was hoping to complete. Well, once I started reading guys I couldn’t put it down. I have never laughed so much or cried so much and then laughed more, at a cutesy contempary. I loved it so much, that after the end of the read-a-thon, I actually went back and read the next in the series ‘Seeking Crystal’.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

rebel of the sandsSo after getting a few hours sleep I was ready to start reading for the last 4.5 hours of the read-a-thon, that is after doing the maintenance and life errands. I decided to pick up Rebel of the Sands because it was the final book on the TBR and frankly it looked good. I was still on the high from such a successful first half that I wanted to just read-read-read-read. The book itself was decent, it had some good plot twists and a well-paced story arch; I think the characters lacked a depth that I would have liked but I did enjoy the concept and magical realism, although I am not 100% sure of the genre. I really pushed towards the end and managed to complete the book with less than 15 minutes to spare- talk about cutting it close guys, I’ve never felt so nervous about the last 20 pages in all my life.


Guys, I still don’t think I am fully grasping how much I have read over the last 24 hours. I admit, I had my highs and lows, with that last hour being the most nervous of all. I think of all the books I read for the read-a-thon, Stealing Phoenix was definitely the ‘best’ for me. I couldn’t say I had a worse book, but I know for certain that I couldn’t have done it without the support of the #readathon team on twitter cheering me on every step of the way! I know for one that I will be participating in the next one!

The next is  on:

22nd October 2016!

Don’t miss it!

So tell me friends, how much have you completed over the last 24 hours? Let me know down below or leave me a link to your wrap up and I will definitely be along to check it out!

Now I am off to try and squeeze in a few more pages for the #AuthorAThon and check out my wrap up, it will be posted tomorrow! I am sad to say that this was the last read-a-thon for April, however I have a whole month of read-a-thons lined up for May (well, except three days- but who’s counting?)!  

Until tomorrow my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

