Reading

#Genrethon Wrap up!

Hey guys,

So the end is here and I have a wonderful warm feeling in my belly because for once, I have completed every book on a read-a-thon TBR including the extras! So I have read a total of 6 books this week, from 6 different genres and guys it was so good! So lets get into the books!

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

the girl at midnightSo guys, this was the book that kick started the read-a-thon (and overlapped with TBR Takedown) and guys I am glad that I did! It was a fast paced magical realism novel about two hidden races at war and the search for the firebird. I was never one for magical realism, I never appealed to me, but after this I am looking for more! A straight 5* read! I have even pre-ordered the sequel!

King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

untitled (75)Now this high fantasy wasn’t completely read during the read-a-thon, I had finished the first 200ish pages before it began but still had 200ish pages to go, we will say 200 for nice round numbers! Although it was slightly slower than the first in the series, King of Thorns definitely packed a punch and still sat firmly at 5*, I think it needed a slower pace because it was essentially telling two stories at two different points in time and pulled it off flawlessly! Brava Mr Lawrence! Cannot wait to finally get into the final in the trilogy (Emperor of Thorns) next month!

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

cruel beauty

I finished King of Thorns pretty early in the day, so I decided to pick up Cruel Beauty and try and power through a decent amount of the fairytale retelling before turning in for the night. Guys, you cant put this book down. It draws you and gets you hooked to the characters. I begs you to carry on turning the pages. I wish I had started it a little earlier in the day so I wasn’t forced to put it down at 3am because I had classes the next morning! There was a bit of confusion towards the end of the book and I am unsure of how this isn’t wrapped up enough for a standalone, so it pegged down to a 4.5*. However, I will be ranking it at 5* on Goodreads because I honestly couldn’t give this book lower than 4.5.

Finding Sky by Joss Stirling

finding sky

Guys, I read a freaking paranormal romance! I don’t read romances, I don’t generally read contempary in any form because real-life situations bore me. Now this was basically a twilight retelling, but pulled it off better in my own opinion- others will disagree but that’s the best thing about opinions. I felt the characters were more real and rounded, the paranormal element was not vampires, I wont say what they are because this is a spoiler free site! This is the start in a series, they are all pretty short and I do intend on trying to finish the rest of the series this month because I want to know what else happens to the characters! A solid 4* read, would have been a 5* if not for a bit of predictable outcomes.

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

the murder complex

So after the romance of Finding Sky, I wanted something gory (I like me a bit of gore!) so I decided to go for The Murder Complex which I originally believed was a horror turned out to be a gory dystopian! Even better- personally! Now this is set in a plague ridden world, where fear rules and the murder rate out-ranks the birth rate! Who wouldn’t want to live in a world like that? Well there is definitely a complicated love interest- oh and I do mean complicated! There are a few familiar elements, with Meadow (the female main character) going off to kill to provide for her little sister… etc. but I still read the entire thing in one sitting and rated it a well deserved 4*.

Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

ice like fireSo the final book I completed this week was Ice like Fire by Sara Raasch, the sequel to Snow like Ashes that I completed last week! This was the longest book I completed this week, and although it wasn’t as ‘good’ as the first book in my opinion, it was still fascinating! I loved the angst between love interests, I love that there isn’t a clear ‘winner’ in who will win dear Meira’s affections and can we not forget the totally awesome booty kicking action in this series? This is a YA Fiction, and although there are some innuendos that older readers giggle at, I think this book is fabulous and is developing into a series that will hook a new generation into fantasy! This is a 4.5* read, not as developed or un-put-down-able as the first, but still great!


So lets consider all the books of this read-a-thon in a manner I love, stats time!

Books completed: 6

Genres Read:

Magical Realism
High Fantasy
Fairytale retelling
Paranormal Romance
Dystopian
YA Fantasy

Total pages read: 2100 pages


So that is how I did for genrethon, let me know how you did in the comments below! Don’t forget to hit like to let me know that you like this new style of wrap-up and click follow to never miss a post!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

