Reading

#TBRTakeDown wrap-up

Hey guys,

So firstly I want to apologise for disappearing over the weekend, as you know it was my grandmother’s funeral and after that I really was not able to focus on anything long enough to put a post together. However, I am back and ready to go!

So over the weekend it was #TBRTakeDown 3.5 and I managed to pull off some serious reading, particularly on the Saturday. I’m going to breakdown each day and then summarise for you, if that is okay?

Friday 8th April

Today was the day of my grandmother’s funeral, I will admit that I didn’t actually read anything today; as you could probably understand. Although the funeral was in the morning, with a family like mine, the wake lasted way into the night and even if I wanted to get some reading done, I really would not have accomplished much. However, this was anticipated and reflected in my original TBR.

Saturday 9th April

Guys, today was one of the best reading days I have had for a long time. I completed two  today! Firstly, I completed Snow like Ashes by Sarah Raasch. Guys, this book is one of a kind! For the length (416 pages- according to goodreads) it was a really quick read- in fact it was the quickest read of the weekend and I was so happy that I started with it! Guys, this completed the challenge of reading a book that has been on your shelf for over a year, as I bought it the moment it hit the shelves but it kept being pushed to the side for other books! I will be trying to get to the sequel this month and I cannot wait to get the review up for you guys! Little to say it was a 5* read!

Next I went on to Firewalker by Josephine Angelini, this is the sequel to Trial by Fire and was pretty good. Although I had to push myself to complete it before midnight (10 minutes before midnight, if you want to get a little more precise!) it was an enjoyable read. It did take me a few chapters to remember how Trial by Fire ended, but then we were pacing through the book! This book fulfilled the catch up with a series challenge, as it is the latest release in the trilogy and I cannot wait to see how this will all wrap up! I will be putting up my review, but this was a solid 4* read!

Sunday 10th April

So, before heading to bed on Saturday night I decided to pick up the final book on my original challenge TBR, A Girl at Midnight by Mellissa Grey; only reading a chapter before bed. Now sunday mainly consisted of spending time out with the family, getting out into nature and enjoying a nice walk. However, on the evening I did manage to get to page 125. I was disappointed that I couldn’t complete it during the read-a-thon, however I do really love how this book is going and cannot wait to finish it.

Now there was a second problem I encountered, when I set my TBR, I believed that this fulfilled the stand-alone challenge. However, after looking it up on Goodreads, I have found that it is in fact the first in a series. Now, I am going to count it towards the stand-lone for one reason, none of the other books in the series have been released yet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


So let’s summarise with some stats!

Books Completed: 2
Snow Like Ashes by Sarah Raasch
Firewalker by Josephine Angelini

Books Started: 1
The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Challenges completed: 2
Read a book that has been on your TBR shelf for more than a year.
Catch up on a series.

Pages read: 893 pages


So how did you do for your weekend reading? Did you participate in TBR TakeDown 3.5? Leave a link to your wrap-up in the comments below!

Also, tell me if you have read any of the books I attempted this weekend? Did you enjoy them like I did? If not, how come?

Can’t wait to hear from you!

Helen

 

One thought on “#TBRTakeDown wrap-up

Leave a Reply

