Reading

Genrethon 1.0 announcement!

Hey Guys,

I know the genrethon has already started but I couldn’t get on over the weekend to tell you what I have planned- of which you already know a bit about thanks to #TBRTakeDown 3.5! So genrethon is a week long read-a-thon in which the aim is to read a minimum of three books across three different genres!

Why different genres? Why can’t we just read books we want to read? Well if you always read one type of book how will you know if you like any others?

So I have three books on my list and a few extras if I can get around to them… so lets get into the books.

The Books!

Firstly I want to finish The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey, this is a magical realism novel that has thieves, magic, and war! Because the read-a-thon started yesterday, and I started this yesterday as part of the TBR TakeDown, I will carry on from where I am and class it as an entire read for the week (because, well technically it is!). I am currently 125 pages in and plan on finishing the book today!

*This is also one of the first magical realism books I have ever read and I need to explore more into the genre so if you have any book recommendations leave them in the comments below!

Secondly, I want to complete King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence, I have already started this book (and no- that was not part of the previous read-a-thon) however one of the rules states that you can continue reading previously started books for the read-a-thon and since it is a high fantasy novel I plan on taking advantage of that. I am currently on page 238 of 419 pages so roughly half way, still leaving me plenty to read for the read-a-thon!

Finally I plan on meeting the third genre in a slightly controversial way, in my eyes, fairytale retellings are their own genre. If someone told me something was a retelling I would not instantly class it as another genre, because lets face it, there are a million and one ways of retelling a story (take Cinder by Marissa Meyers for instance a Sci-fi retelling of Cinderella whereas a lot of retellings may be classed as fantasy). So, the retelling I have chosen is Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, a loose beauty and the beast retelling that I have heard nothing but great things about! At 346 pages, I am hoping it will be a quick read.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are a few extra reads I would like to either start or continue with:

  • The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings (Stand-alone high fantasy; currently on page 278 of 913, do not intend on reaching the end within the week!)
  • Finding Sky by Joss Stirling (teen fantasy)
  • The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings (Horror-esque)
  • Ice like Fire #2 Snow like Ashes by Sara Raasch (YA fantasy)

I know that I have gone kinda easy on myself for the actual TBR, however I have a busy week in terms of Uni and assessments, with due dates and application deadlines before the end of the read-a-thon so I do have to create a reading-life balance. I also HAVE TO- HAVE TO- HAVE TO, get back to working on Red Peril because word counts and expectations. I feel like I have really been letting you guys down in terms of my progress over the last week, so I need a good boot up the backside and get the momentum going again.

However, having just stumbled out of a reading slump and into one of the craziest reading highs, all I want to do over the last few days is read- even when I physically couldn’t. I am determined to dedicate about 2 hours of reading time every night, not just for this read-a-thon but I think for life; I need to not only have time to read and get through my ever-growing TBR piles (*cough* bookshelves) but also to switch off from the constant drain of working from the moment I wake up to the moment I decide I need to sleep.

So I am going to leave my ramblings there before I bore you all, unless I already have and then I am really really really sorry.

Let me know in the comments below what you plan on tackling for genrethon, and what your favourite genre is! Mine is fantasy, I haven’t decided on what type of fantasy I prefer overall but there is always time to figure these things out.

Until tomorrow my friends,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

