General

Camp Day 6- When life gives you lemons…

Hey Guys,

Today I failed once again- but honestly, I don’t think today was entirely my fault. I was set for a day of lectures, scheduled and planned to the ‘T’. Well, after waiting for what felt like hours, I find that the first class has been cancelled without anyone telling the students (helpful I know!), well without my laptop I really couldn’t do much in the way of word count. So grabbing the book I just happened to have my in bag I managed to get a few hundred pages read while waiting four hours for the next class.

Well, once again I was waiting for class only to find the lecturer had forgotten about it and didn’t turn up. Although I spent two hours trying to find answers and explanations, it was for no reason. Apparently, its okay because there must have been ‘miscommunication’ which basically meant they messed up and now they wanted the students to take the blame.

So you can imagine, this did not bode well with me, in rather a foul mood I made my way home with the ambition of finding some use of an otherwise wasted day (bar the few hundred pages of reading I had managed). I get home to find some of the funeral plans had gone wrong, so before anything else got done I needed to deal with them.

By this time it was nearing 9pm, I was in one of the foulest moods I could remember and all I wanted to do was punch things. So instead of sitting myself in front of one of the most expensive things I own, I sat myself in the corner and managed to finish ‘Sisters Red’ by Jackson Pearce and get through another 100 pages of ‘The Redemption of Althalus’ by David and Leigh Eddings. Feeling slightly proud as this is the first completed read for April, and a largish chunk of the monster book completed in one grumpy sitting!

I will be posting my ‘Sisters Red’ review over the next few days, little to say it was good but not great and followed some clichĂ© tropes that wound me up at the end. It’s good as a mindless read but it lacks engagement with the characters and although it attempted to create some depth, I think it chose the easiest solution to the few problems created (I mean the two plots of the entire book!). I will discuss this fully in the review, and of course it will be spoiler free!

So my friends, I do hope that you have had a better day than I and that you managed to get some words down on paper. Let me know in the comments below.

I do very much hope that I can get back into the swing of writing tomorrow (alongside all of the other things I need to get done- I’m looking at you PhD applications). On another positive note, I should have another few books arriving tomorrow so keep an eye out for a small book haul post and my genrethon announcement post!

Wishing you all the luck for your word counts and the day ahead,

Helen x

Leave a Reply

