General

#TBRTakeDown Announcement!

Hey guys,

So, on top of all the things going on this month (writing, uni, funeral… etc.) I want to participate in two read-a-thons! The first being TBRTakeDown! (check out the official Twitter page!)

This read-a-thon runs from the 8th to the 10th of April and has three challenges! I shall be attempting all three of them!

Challenge 1.

So the first challenge is to read a stand alone and for this I have chosen (what I believe is a standalone) Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey. From what I have read on the back, it is about a pickpocket and a magical creature called Echo, there is thievery, magic, and war… what else can a girl want in a book?

At 361 pages, I am hoping that it will be a good, fast-paced read that I can get done in a few hours!

Challenge 2.

For this challenge, you need to play catch up in a series; so I have decided to tackle the sequel to Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini that I read last year, with Firewalker. I really enjoyed the first instalment of this series and although it was a long time ago, I can still vividly remember the details I need to dive straight into the second one!

Although there has been a cover change since I fell in love with this world, I do prefer the new covers, with Trial by Fire now quoting ‘I am a witch and witches burn’ which sums up the first book so beautifully. But the second- now the second one has a beautifully enticing cover ‘witches do not die quietly’. I cannot wait to devour all 335 pages of this!

Challenge 3.

Now, this challenge was the hardest for me to choose, to read a book that has been on your shelf for more than a year. So eventually, I decided on Snow like Ashes by Sara Raasch, as I have all the current instalments of the series (and the third on pre-order) even though I haven’t even opened the cover of the first? Logical- no chance. Although this is the largest book on my definite list at 422 pages, is also has the largest font so I think it balances out wonderfully.

Additional craziness…

So for the read-a-thon, I have decided to add a few extra books as I had decided to take that weekend off from writing, more about that in my post on Friday. I have a handful of additional books, that if I get the time to, I will be starting during the read-a-thon! There are four on this extra list, but as the second read-a-thon starts on the 10th these may spill into that as well.

  • Finding Sky by Joss Stirling
  • Half bad by Sally Green
  • Hidden Among Us by Katy Moran
  • Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

As per usual, after the read-a-thon, I will be doing a run down on how I went as well as reviewing all of the books I manage to get through! I am still two books ahead on my Goodreads challenge, but I need to hit at least 4 books this month to stay ahead and I am really greatful for this read-a-thon as I always get so much more reading done in them!


Although I am tempted to dive into these books now (slaps hand away) I will force myself to get through the two books I am currently reading (King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence and Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce) so I can be guilt free when starting the read-a-thon on Friday.

Let me know if you are participating below, and if so, how are you planning on tackling the challenge? If you aren’t let me know what you are reading at the moment, or your favourite flavour of ice-cream! (P.S. Mine is banana!)

Leave a Reply

