Writing

My Writing Aims (April-June 2016)

Hey guys,

I’m not forgetting you- I swear! I’m just determined to get the mountain of stuff I need to get done, done before Camp NaNo begins. I know it’s never going to happen, but I just have to try!

So, I was sat at my desk this morning and realised that I hadn’t really set myself any expectations for the next few months, especially in terms of my writing. Don’t get me wrong, I have some major decisions coming over the next few months; some, dare I say, should take precedent over writing. But, I don’t want to neglect my writing… again.

So, I have decided on June, what do I plan on getting done (writing wise) between the start of April and June?

April Goals

Can you guys guess what this aim is? Seriously come on guys- do I need to write the words… okay I will write the words!

Complete the first draft of Red Peril for Camp NaNo!

No. I don’t just mean reaching 50K. I mean, getting to the end of the story.

The. End.

May Goals

Guys, I’m guessing you have a rough idea what might be coming up in May… oh you got it!

Revisions.

Ah, but seriously, I wont be able to just revise for a whole month. So I have some short stories that I really need to work on. I have three or four that I need to get written for August, so May will most likely be plotting these out in quite a bit of detail.

June Goals

Right guys, I have three aims again…

Firstly, I want to get Red Peril close enough to being finished that I can start getting in touch with Beta readers.

Secondly, I want to draft out all of my short stories for the anthology. They are all roughly ten pages long each, which doesn’t sound like a lot; but seriously guys, I need to work out how to write a middle grade book.

Thirdly, time to plan for next Camp Nano!


So… those are the goals I am setting for the next three months. I want you to let me know what your plans are… down below!

In April, I will…

In May, I will…

In June, I will…

Let me  know below, and remember guys, being accountable for your aims increases your productivity!

Until next time my friends,

Helen x

10 thoughts on “My Writing Aims (April-June 2016)

  1. Monthly goals are great; enough flexibility that a day off here and there won’t massively impact the result, but equally a short enough time to be reflecting on results!

    I’m aiming to revise my current WIP draft, finishing it around mid-May, and then send it to beta readers until late-June, when I’ll be revising again. I have two short stories I want to work on in between, although I’ve found looser goals work for me personally so don’t pick exact months for each project. 🙂

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. K R Green- Those are amazing goals! Are you planning on writing on your WIP throughout CampNaNoWriMo? We have a similar plan for the next three months! Keep my informed!

      Good luck!

      Thank you for taking the time to reply! Much appreciated!

      Helen x

      Like

      1. I don’t take part in the camps as I like to do one slow-work novel and one 30 day novel a year; keeps my creativity going without too much pressure. So not this month, but I have completed every NaNo minus 1 (took a year off) since 2009 🙂

        Like

      2. That’s amazing! I think I’m on a pressure writing high right now, I’ve found that I work really well under pressure and NaNo and Camp seem to apply the right amount for me. Everyone works differently under pressure, especially time, if you don’t mind, how do you keep the momentum going over a slow write novel? I’ve only ever really drafted quickly and then make more ‘sets’ of revisions. I found that for me, my steam tends to slow after 2 months? Then I get distracted by a new shiny project!

        Like

  2. My overall 2016 writing goal is to try and write a little every day. I’ve got a Hobonichi Techo and while I haven’t written every single day, I’m writing most days and learning how to let go when I don’t reach a specific goal, which for a goal oriented control freak like myself is a big thing.

    Like

    1. Jenniesisler that is a tough goal to stick to! I just about manage it for 30 days let alone 365! You will have to let me know how it’s been going!
      May I ask what a Hobonichi Techno is? It sounds fascinating!
      I personally struggle with letting go when I fail at self-imposed deadlines or aims, something I definitely aim to work on this year!

      Thank you for taking the time to reply!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. A Hobonichi is a Japanese planner (http://www.1101.com/store/techo/2016/planner/index.html) and I got the A5 original version. I don’t really use the calendaring part of it – I just CAN’T be that organized, no matter how hard I try. It’s not terribly expensive as planners go, and I love the Tomoe River paper. Really I just thought that if I was going to splurge on a really nice journal I’d be more motivated to write every day. Even though I haven’t quite reached that goal, I’m pleased with what progress I’ve made so far.

        Like

      2. I should say I got the A5 Cousin for the bigger pages. In any rate, I didn’t bother with a cover – I’ve just stickered and washi-taped mine into well used oblivion.

        Like

Leave a Reply

