General

February in review// upcoming in March

Well Ladies and Gentlemen,

We have come to the end of the first month on this blog and it’s time to think back to what has happened and how I feel about it!

So firstly let’s touch on my writing for February!

I haven’t done much in the way of writing this month (other than for Uni!) but I have made a start on a few projects!

My first writing project I started this month was editing my NaNoWriMo novel from last November, let me tell you… I have some major work ahead of me! I’m cutting characters and reworking plot lines, which basically means I have to rewrite. But it will be worth it… wont it?

My second project this month is for this blog! I have started working through my backlog of short stories and scene snippits that I have amassed since starting writing and polishing them up a bit! I have been working on one or two mainly, for now; and plan on getting them onto the blog real soon!

No onto my reading wrap-up!

Guys, I have read more books this month than I have for a long time! Seven books! Let’s have a quick look!

  1. Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
    This was an amazing read and I reviewed it! I highly recommend this book to epic dark fantasy readers, but it definitely isn’t for younger or squeamish readers!
  2. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
    I loved this book and was ashamed that I put it down for so long after I started it. I reviewed it here and I highly recommend it!
  3. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
    Although I loved Red Queen, the sequel didn’t cut it; resulting in a solid three star review.
  4. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
    Guys, if you take one book from this list… chose this one! My first 5 star review of the year!
  5. A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
    This story was beautiful, a wonderful introduction to reading culturally diverse books! Check out the review here (when I actually post it!).
  6. Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott
    One of the fastest books I have ever read! I finished the entirety of this and the second in one day! Highly recommend! Reviews will be up shortly!
  7. Salt and Stone by Victoria Scott
    You can imagine what I am going to say about the sequel! I cannot wait for the next instalment!
  8. Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan
    This book felt like a chore to finish, with an unimaginative storyline and poorly developed characters. I forced myself to finish it on the 29th merely for the fact that I don’t want to carry it into March! Stay tuned for a more thorough review.

I will have reviews up for all of these soon! Some of them are up already!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So how am I doing on my goodreads challenge now?

goodreads challenge update 2016.03.01.png

So you can see it there for yourselves… I am four books ahead of schedule! Hurray! So what am I going to attempt to read throughout March to keep me ahead… or do I dare (teehee) get further ahead?

I have 11 books on my TBR list for this month! If I get half of these read I will be happy.

  • Frozen by Melissa De La Cruz
  • King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
  • Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
  • Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
  • The Martian by Andy Weir
  • Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce
  • Sweetly by Jackson Pearce
  • The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima
  • Poison Study by Maria V Snyder

So those are the books I will attempt to read in March, however writing wise I plan on getting four short pieces up this month and make an outline for my April Camp Nano Project. There will be a post especially for my Nano project coming up soon telling you all about the project that I plan on working on and my aims for April Camp Nano.

Helen x

Leave a Reply

