Reading

Clawing out of the reading slump!

Hi guys,

So through January I did hardly any reading, however since #HarryPotterBookNight I have been reading more and more. When I finally decided to update my Goodreads reading challenge for 2016 I found that I am already 2 books behind schedule (shock!) so I need a kick up the booty and get some serious reading done!

So I need to make a pledge!

I will make an effort to catch up with my reading goal this month!

Now I still have a lot of priorities other than reading, I have four large assignments for my Uni work and my next lot of postal course assignments will be arriving within the week! But still, I have only set myself the aim of reading 50 books this year and so far two of the I have on my Goodreads challenge were read to my niece (Roald Dahl!).

So where am I now?

  • Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
    I am currently on page 284 of 319 with the aim of completing this book today! Will someone please come and give me a good ol’ Gibbs headslap if I don’t! (shout out to the NCIS fans!)
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
    I am shamefully on page 50 of 332 and I aim to complete this before the end of next week!
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
    I am currently on page 260 of 370, I am aiming to complete this book before the end of the week, with a higher priority than Harry Potter (only as I am closer to finishing!). I need to complete this book so I can move on to the others in the series!
  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown
    I am currently on page 92 of 382, this book will be finished this month; it is definitely a heavier read and the font is much smaller. I am loving the book however it does feel like it is taking forever to make any progress and kinda started a reading slump for me.

Okay, so once I complete the books on this list I will still need at least two more books to put me back on track for my reading goal. Since most of these books will be complete by the end of the week, I have room to add a few more to the list:

  • Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
    I have literally received this book in the post today (honestly, I had forgot that I ordered it… tee hee! 🙂 so happy mail surprise!). It is quite a large book, with 440 pages I doubt I will get it read in one sitting but it will definitely be read this month! I loved Red Queen so I am thrilled to finally have a copy of the next one!
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
    I  love this series! I am ashamed that I haven’t picked this up yet! However with 645 pages it is a bit of a kickass book! My aim is to complete it by the end of the month but if I have to carry it over to March TBR I will not be unhappy.
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
    Now, I picked this book up purely on a recommendation and now little to nothing about it! With 412 pages I hope to squeeze it in over the next 2 weeks!
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets & Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
    Although these are at the bottom of the pile, they are books I want to at least start this month (well Chamber of Secrets first obviously).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So there are the books I want to complete (or in some cases at least start!) this month! If I complete all that’s on the list (ridiculously hopeful!) I will be ahead of my challenge!

Let me know what your planning on reading for the rest of the month?

(Also, would you prefer a monthly reading goal post or weekly? Let me know!)

Helen x

Leave a Reply

