General

Game of Thrones Book Tag

Hey guys,

So we are back with another book tag, and this was first compiled by Claire Rousseau on YouTube and I love all things Game of Thrones and this book tag is no exception! Based on nine of the main characters (well technically 10!) and I loved finding books to match them.

Arya Stark… A character that is all about revenge

For me, a character that is all about the revenge is Caleana Sardothien, a kickass assassin who hungers for the blood of those who sent her to the salt mines to die. This series has grown and developed and I honestly cant wait to see where it goes. If you haven’t already, pick up Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas.

Varys… A book featuring political intrigue

For me, one of the best series with pure political intrigue has to be The Winners Curse trilogy by Marie Rutkoski. These three books are pure political greatness, you are sucked into a world where politics is everything, and a quick fire decision can make a country fall. I highly recommend!

Jon Snow… a coming of age story

The Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks is an amazing coming of age story about a boy who lost everything and found himself wrapped in a world of assassins, magic, and abilities he didn’t know existed. I flew through all of these books and they just get better and better, you get dragged into Kylar’s life, both before and after he transforms into something to be feared. Another huge recommendation!

Jaime and Cersei… A ship you just cant get behind

The Court of Fives by Kate Elliott has the potential to be an outstanding series, based on a tournament of skill and training; honestly I didn’t think it needed a love interest to make the story complete. For this reason I just couldn’t get behind the ship of the main character Jessamy and her rival Kalliarkos. It didn’t feel real and it didn’t feel like it fit in with the story as a whole.

Lady Olenna… A badass older character

I think this may be a go to answer for many people completing this tag, by Haymitch from The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins, has to be one of the best badass older characters. Rebellion, training kids to kill (in a positive way), and making Katniss Everdeen be loved; all remarkable feats for an alcoholic and broken person.

Danny… A book featuring dragons

This middle-grade series is a fun and fast paced story of young dragons coming to terms with who they are and the role they have to play in the world they are in. The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui Sutherland is a funny and adorable book, I highly recommend, especially for younger readers.

Sansa Stark… A character you grew to love

A character I grew to love is a complicated one, mainly because I still don’t know whether he was ever truly good or bad, I just know that I still think about his character months after I finished reading his story. The Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan holds a host of unforgettable characters and the one that I truly grew to love (in a weird and twisted way) was The High Lord himself, I am trying really hard to stay on the spoiler free side of this as I could talk about The High Lord for hours!

Melisandre… A favourite magic system

A magic system that I truly love is of course one of Brandon Sanderson’s, his magic system in Warbreaker is amazing. I love the complexity of it, but how simply you learn it. You don’t find yourself completely lost in how it works, nor do you find yourself swamped with information on it. If you want to learn how to create fully fledged magic systems, you need to study how Brandon Sanderson creates his!

Tyrion Lanister… A character who’s weapon is their mind

A character that I find fits this perfectly is Prince Yarvi from Half a King by Joe Abercrombie, being disabled is hard enough in our world, but in a world of swords and great battles, Yarvi finds it almost impossible to survive. It’s even harder when you are constantly trying to be assassinated and find yourself flung across the country and battling for not only your life, but the survival of your family. Yarvi is definitely a fast witted character, who’s power and strength comes from being able to out-think his opponent rather than over-power them.


So, this was an interesting book tag. It really made me think about the characters I haven’t thought about in a while and honestly I am so glad I did this. I do want to go back and re-read some of these books now, and importantly I also want to finish some of the series that I had started, loved, and unfortunately never picked up again.

Who do you see fulfilling these roles? Do you agree with my choices or are they completely different to those you would have chosen? Let me know in the comments below and please leave a link to your answers if you post this tag too!

Thanks for stopping by!

Helen x

Leave a comment